Join us at our small lakeside farm paradise on the beautiful west coast in Henån, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two children, aged seven and eleven, living on a little farm on the side of a lake, at the end of the road, near to the sea and next to the forest on the beautiful island of Orust on the Swedish West-Coast. We've recently moved here and are working hard to make this little paradise flourish on all levels. For the moment we're still renovating, so the accommodation we can provide is quite simple with a basic standard.
    We have several buildings to take care of and quite a lot of land to grow food, herbs, flowers etc. We have a few beehives and plan to get more animals (sheep, chickens,...) by next summer. Our children attend the local Waldorf-school, and we like to have people coming over so that we can together enjoy the beauty of the place, work, food, life... We used to travel a lot in different parts of the world, and now that we settle down here, we want to invite the world to our place, to keep on learning and exchanging.

    Our goal is to make this place into a platform for all kinds of social activities, promoting cultural exchange and sustainable development on many different levels: personal, educational, (agri)cultural, environmental, artistic, etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is all kinds of stuff to learn and to exchange here. To name some of it:

    Except for just learning about the land, the country and the nature by spending time in it, there is all kinds of practical stuff to learn, such as renovating and building with wood, managing the land, making your own timber and building with it, planting trees, growing your own food, making firewood, taking care of kids, plants, animals, the earth and each other. We have a small tractor from 1954 that you can learn to use and maybe learn something about mechanics together?
    This is all new to us, so we are just learning by doing, and you’re welcome to join us in this challenging but fun proces!
    If you want, you will also get to know the wonderful world of bees and beekeeping. In the summer season there is quite some work with the beehives, and taking care of the precious honey…

    We speak several languages fluently. We both love to teach (used to work as a teacher) and learn new languages and other interesting stuff. We also have a wide interest in stuff like nutrition, natural health care, midwifery, arts and music, philosophy, anthropology, shamanism, different spiritual traditions etc.

    We are world citizens and if you stay here, you will find yourself in an international environment, as we have friends from many different places that show up now and then, so many languages are spoken here. We can share a lot about the cultures of Belgium, Sweden and many other countries we’ve traveled or lived in. If you want to, you might join us when we go for a sauna, go out rock-climbing or visiting friends in nearby eco-villages and so on.

    We love traveling and we will be happy to help you find places of your interest on the island, in the region and beyond.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we mostly need help with renovating different (wooden) buildings, moving stuff around (both inside and outside), building, making (and using) a little sauna, developing the fruit and vegetable garden, beekeeping, working out in the forest (cleaning up fallen trees, cutting timber and firewood), preparing the land for the sheep and chickens (fencing etc).
    If you like hanging out with kids, there will be many opportunities for that too.
    We also like to share daily household-tasks such as preparing food, making fire, etc. As it is quite an old farm (the main house is from 1894), there is always all kinds of maintenance work, depending on the weather and other circumstances.
    During the summer season, we will probably have quite some visitors coming over, to eat, camp, and hang out or join us on working days/parties, maybe some workshops, sweatlodge-ceremonies, and possibly other gatherings. That means there will probably be some preparation to do in order to let this all go smooth and get stuff done.
    We both work part-time. This means we are not always at home. We try to organise it so that at least one of us is home, but there may be days where none of us is home for a few hours. We do not count the hours we work on the farm ourselves and prefer not to count yours either, unless you prefer that. We are quite flexible and we believe in open communication where we can all listen to the needs of everyone and act accordingly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Wake up in the morning, walk down to the lake, have a swim, get up, pick some berries, go out in the forest, start the day.

    There are different possibilities for accommodation, both in the main-house and in other places. There are different indoor spaces such as a guest room in the main house, a separate cabin with a kitchen, and a small apartment-like room in the barn. In the summer, you could also sleep in a caravan or in a very big and comfortable round canvas tent, where we could even install a little stove if it gets cold. Depending on when you come and how many other people are staying, we will provide you with the most comfortable accommodation we can. You can also sleep in your own tent or van if you like, or build your own cabin while you're here.

    It's important to mention that we have a very "poor" or basic standard compared to most Swedish households, but we feel rich, because of the beauty of nature around, the good and healthy food we eat every day and the exchanges we have with people visiting. You'll be living close to nature, sharing most facilities with us and/or other people that might be around. Don't worry, we'll make sure that there is space enough for everyone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The island of Orust and the region of Bohuslän on the Swedish West Coast are known as a popular tourist attraction, mainly in the summer season, when the number of people staying on the island almost triples. At our farm you don’t get bothered by all these tourists though. There are plenty of nice sights just nearby, especially if you like nature. The region is perfect (and therefore popular) for bathing, diving, hiking, biking, sailing, rock-climbing, paddling etc.

    You can walk or run to the forest, and the sea, but we also have several bikes, which you are welcome to use. In Slussen, the nearest (tiny) village, there is a vegan summer cafe, and a place where they have regular live-music performances during the summer. If needed, we can take you to the bus-station or the main town (Henån) where you can also find a local health-care centre, several shops, a library and other basic facilities.

    There are several interesting natural and archeological and art-sites nearby.
    If you want to go to a big city: Gothenburg (Sweden’s second biggest city) is just about an hour away by public transport or by car. Oslo (the capital city of Norway) takes about three hours. We’re relatively close to the E6 highway (on the mainland) and we have regular busses from the island to the main transportation hubs (bus, train) for both local, regional and international transport.


    We don’t use facebook or other social media, we prefer live, face to face contact. We like to have people around and do stuff together. We hope to share this beautiful place with many like-minded people. We believe we can all learn from each other and together make this place bloom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 421565322672