Come join us and help on our farm in Söderköping, Sweden

  • Favourited 35 times
  • Last activity: 15 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description



    We are a couple of 70 and 65 years young, Jos (dutch) and Susanne (swedish). We have moved to our little "farm" with 5.5 ha forrest and acres close by Söderköping in Sankt Anna's skärgård. The farm is only 1,5 km from the Baltic sea. We are living here now for some years and we are almost ready with the renovation of the farm. We are growing our own (organic) vegetables, herbs and flowers.We have bees and a cat. So if you have experience in the garden and building than you are more than welcome.
    We have been travelling ourselves very much and it is therefore we like to welcome people from different cultures now at our own place. For us is life more then only working in the garden. We like the quietness and beauty of the place and her surroundings. Besides that we are interested in talks and sharing more filosofical questions around life and meditation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can become more familiar with living a more sustainable life, cooking vegetarian food, growing your own organic vegetables. Offcourse you will learn a little more about Sweden.
    For the person who is interested in beekeeping you can help with the bees when necessary offcourse.
    Getting to know the beauty of the landscape and the silence!!!!
    We will have a kind of evaluation after one week to hear if our farm is the right place to be for you and if it gives you what you expected. And offcourse for us too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    - helping in the garden which includes picking weeds (every day for a while), harvesting vegetables for cooking and storing for the winterperiod.
    - helping with cooking
    - helping with building and renovating the new farmhouse and preparing the garden
    - building, we have several projects
    - painting work

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Simple accommodation with a guestroom in a separate building with three beds.
    Shower and toilet are in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - relax and enjoy the silence on our farm
    - walks in the forest and to the sea
    - learn about natural beekeeping
    - we have WIFI in the mainhouse but bad connection for mobile telephone and no TV
    - On the farm we have a busstop close by
    - at least two weeks stay till four weeks
    - no smoking
    - we eat vegetarian food
    -we have two bicycles

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day 6 days a week or 5 hours a day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 367492687541

Feedback (20)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our family in restoring the beauty of our 150 year old timber home in Linköping, Sweden
Community living, growing and building in Svenljunga, Sweden