Gardening in the french west indies, Guadelope

Country

Guadeloupe

updated  

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Olivier and Céline, 56 and 43 years old, of French nationality. We live for 12 years in Marie-Galante, a small island of the Caribbean sea (french west indies). We try to move towards a sustainable, healthier and simpler way of life. Olivier is a carpenter, he built 2 bungalows, on a plot where we can develop a small organic farm. Currently we have 1 dog, 3 cats and about 25 chickens. I work outside as a social worker, and Olivier developed the land (garden, planting, construction...)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be happy to make you discover Marie-Galante, its patrimonial and natural sites. You will appreciate the sweetness of life in the West Indies, the local culture, gastronomy.
    You will be able to improve your French, but also to discover the Creole language.
    We see the workaway experience as an exchange, and hopefully also learn from your culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We have just completed the installation of rainwater collection, with the help of workawayers.
    Now we need help with sowing and planting, pruning, general maintenance of the land and the bungalow.
    You will participate in the development of land (clearing, planting, maintenance) and in feeding and caring animals.
    No need for special skills, Olivier will guide you in the realization of all the tasks.
    If you are a do-it-yourselfer, you can also propose and carry out ideas for layout or decoration, for example with local materials (driftwood for example).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be installed in a perfectly equipped independent bungalow (bedroom, bathroom, kitchen on the terrace).
    We offer to provide food, at least the basic foods: cereals, condiments, fruits and vegetables, meat and fish from time to time, and eggs at will of course!
    Depending on the mood, sometimes everyone prepares their meal and other times we cook and eat together.
    We like to cook, discover recipes and introduce local products.
    If you want to work fewer hours, we can find another arrangement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Marie-Galante is a small island of 10,000 inhabitants, very rural and lined with beaches. You can go hiking, diving, water activities such as canoeing or kite surfing.
    Public transport is not very easy, but autostop works well.
    If you are a sportsman, we can lend you a bike.
    During the days off you can also discover Guadeloupe which is only 1 hour away by boat.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week (with 2 or 3 days off)



Host ref number: 262551574734