Helping in the gardens, farm and historic house, Monaghan, Ireland



Favourited 466 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    We are a warm Irish family Looking for people to help us maintain a beautiful ancestral home, farm and gardens.

    We run a guesthouse in our large 1740s manor house, and my husband is the chef and I am front of house, helping tend to the guests needs. We also have a sheep farm to on the estate, two dogs, chickens and pigs. It is a beautiful place with stunning countryside. There is a village 1 km away where there is a bus to other towns. . We have lots of bikes and we are happy to drop you to a bus stop if you wish to explore Ireland and it is pretty easy to do so through the bus service. We are 90 minutes from either Dublin or Belfast.
    There is swimming in the lake, boating fishing, beautiful grounds to explore and a house full of history.
    We need helpers during May and in the summer. The help would be varied, from helping with the animals to maintaining the garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Yes absolutely the house is almost 300 years old and our kids are the 10 generation to live here. It is a very beautiful place, we grow our own food and are very interested in different cultures, we love the idea of learning from each other. We also have other volunteers living with us too so it is an opportunity to meet and make friends with people from all over the world too.

  • Help


    we Have a beautiful kitchen garden which has fruit and veg to be picked and tended. There are our two pigs to be fed and sheep to be tended. Ideal for those who like nature and the outdoors.

    There are 400 acres of woodland, gardens and two lakes (fishing too). It really is a special place and you will be rewarded with good food and a unique experience. You then have the rest of the time to yourself to learn about the local area.

    We will help facilitate you getting around Ireland as we know how important it is to see Ireland too, so on your time off we can drop you to the bus, or drop you in cities and towns close by. The bus system is good too so it is easy to get around.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation


    A lovely bedroom in the house with lovely views. Guests depending you might even sleep in a guest room with an ensuite bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in County Monaghan which is 90minutes by bus from both Dublin airport and Belfast. The local village, a short 15min walk, has a shop, bus stop and a pub, the nearest town is three miles away, Clones. It is lovely area of Ireland and the people are very friendly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 419846821417