Energetic English couple in our early 60's looking for hand finishing our house and gardens in south-west France

Country

France

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Nigel and Jane, an Energetic English couple in our early 60's and we moved from to south west France about 2 years ago, from Normandy. We have been in this wonderful country for 15 years now. We live with our 2 dogs , a Labrador and a border collie, and are renovating our farmhouse slowly and also have a lot to do on the 2.5 hectares of neglected land as well. However, we also like to take time out to spend a little time with our neighbours and to enjoy this unspoiled part of the country. We are very lucky here as we have beautiful forests on our doorstep, the ocean, with endless beaches, fantastic for surfing as well as swimming, and the Pyrenees to the south, all within easy reach. The Spanish border is 1.5 hours away and Bordeaux is 2 hrs. We are at the crossroads of the Gascon, Basque, French and Spanish cultures, and you will all of these languages spoken around here, a great mix of cultures. We look forward to meeting and sharing our home and ideas with a suitable person or couple.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are willing to pass on any construction skills that we have, in particular French electrical installation as I am a qualified electrician, but lots of other things too. We speak English and French and will be happy to develop your skills in that area. Nigel was an art teacher and would love to help, or work with, any budding artists in their spare time. A great way to relax after work. Cooking is also an interest where we can share recipes and skills , it's always good to try something new. We are happy to share our evenings with you or leave you to do your own thing, as you prefer. We can give you the occasional lift and you are always welcome to jump in the car with us if we are going out. We can advise on the great things to do or see in the area, and if you have a special interest, let us know before you come and we will do some research for you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with the ongoing renovation, in particular insulation and plaster-boarding, at the moment (winter and spring 2019). So you will need to have some maturity, skill and strength for this, though we are willing to teach. When the weather is dry, we like to focus on the outdoors, felling trees and wood cutting, bramble clearance, fencing and generally tidying up. Later, in the summer of 2019, we will be doing general external house repairs and painting. Carpentry skills would also be useful for making shutters and building a cart-port. We would expect you to keep your own room clean and tidy and a bit of general mucking in with keeping shared living space housework.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would living in our house in a newly finished double or twin bedroom. You would have your own new toilet, basin and shower all to yourselves. In the summer you can use our tent if you prefer. We also have a small one that you could take off camping, if you so wished. We will provide meals with us and are hope you will join in with the food preparation from time to time We would take your food preferences into account. You can have free access to the internet though it is not high speed. We do not allow smoking in the house but its fine outside as long as you pick up your butts. We have quite eclectic music tastes but would need you to respect any requests for quiet time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a minimal bus service that links us to the two main towns of Dax and Mont de Marsan. and the villages in between. From these towns there are good train and bus services to explore further afield. Blabla Car is also active in the area and can be a very cheap way of getting about. We can lend you bikes to get about locally. The nearest bakery, store and bar/cafe is 2Km. Cinema, various groups and classes, such as yoga, supermarket shops and weekly market at 5Km. Our village does have various events that you could join . The area offers a multitude of outdoor activities from Easter to the end of October. Surfing, sailing and all the ocean related sports, gorgeous beaches for lounging and tanning. The forests offer peace and wildlife, with many trails, organised walks or just get lost on your own. There are some stunning lakes and river walks too. If you are into wine, come and discover the local Chalosse and Tursan vineyards and wines. The history of the area is long and varied so there are interesting museums, churches (our own village church is a little gem) and chateaux to visit. The Pyrenees are within easy reach and offer different experiences, depending upon the season. Dax is a hot spa town with history going back to roman times. Visits to the cities of Bayonne, Bordeaux and San Sebastian, are a must. They are culturally so very different.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 419793932463