Help with our garden social justice project & house projects on the Central Coast, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 525 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    467

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a large garden project for my son who has special needs. We grow fruits and vegetables that he delivers to the neighbors. We aim to build bridges between worlds and connect our son who has special needs with a community of friends around the world!
    We are an active and changing household here on the central coast of California. I have 3 boys, one who is 20, an 18 year old with special needs and a 12 year old son. My boyfriend Cédric has a 12 year old son from France who is here during vacations. We have a cat named Felix and a bunch of chickens.
    The garden social justice project is a project for my son who has a genetic syndrome kind of similar to Down's Syndrome. He absolutely adores people. Developmentally, he is like a 3-4 year old and he communicates using an ipod and sign language and more and more words all the time. We have a dream of creating a life for him that helps to accomplish two goals: connect to community and to find his purpose in life. With those goals in mind, we have created this project for him. We have a really large garden, about 25 fruit trees and about 18 chickens. Jonas grows (well, the workawayers and our family grow) items that he delivers to people in the neighborhood. We also need help maintaining our home and our property. We call our home 'Home of Happiness' and our goal is to create a world full of diversity, art, conversation and connection.

    I, Cindy, am a Californian through and through, born and raised right here on the Central Coast. I love these hills and coast and can recommend hiking trails, restaurants and the best beaches. I am passionate about traveling and understanding people. I speak English, Spanish, some French and limited American Sign Language.
    I, Cédric, am a multi-discipline artist from Paris, France. I grew up in the vineyard blanketed hills of southern Burgundy and have lived and traveled around the world from Provence to India, from Brasil to Mexico, from West Africa to Burma, Pakistan and... California. I love tackling cultural differences and other languages and speak French, English, Portuguese, Spanish and some Urdu/Hindi!
    We run another project, where we produce cultural immersion experiences, including hosting unique, meaningful and memorable trips in the States, Europe, and Latin America as well as art project production and promotion. We travel a lot! We love meeting people from around the world!

    We need help in August: help with garden (planting, weeding, trimming, mowing, harvesting, etc.), work on house projects (house work, painting, etc.)

    One week minimum please.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about life in the United States and in California, in particular. By joining with our family, you will also learn a lot about living with and loving a person with special needs and the family dynamics (and challenges) that go along with that and experience the joy and connection that our special guy brings to everyone who knows him. You'll also have the chance to live in one of the most beautiful places in the United States, the central coast of California, while also learning about landscaping, gardening practices, and living with someone with special needs. We love to travel, love other languages, and know that we can all learn from each other!

  • Help

    Help

    We'd like to trade a spare bedroom in our house for 5 hours of help per day for 5 days per week per person. You'll need to do tasks independently, by yourself much of the time while we are busy with work and projects.
    The help here is to work on our garden project, help with house projects (painting, maintenance, etc.) and help with light housework and cleaning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We just love to learn about and share languages!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a nice spare bedroom in our home. There is a shared bathroom in the hall.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in paradise! The beautiful central coast of California! It is a nature-lover's paradise with the beach nearby (Pismo Beach and Avila Beach), numerous hiking trails, and other famous tourist sites, including San Luis Obispo with it's fun Thursday night Farmer's Market, numerous live music concerts outdoors, Hearst Castle up the coast, we are surrounded by California wine country, and Santa Barbara is just a 1.5 hour drive to the south. We are quite far from a big city, but we have numerous middle-sized cities all around us! We live in a neighborhood (other houses close by), but we're about a 5 minute drive from the center of town. Within 10 minutes walking distance of our house there are three restaurants (a bbq steak house, a pizza place, and a Mexican food restaurant), a grocery store, and a gas station with a mini-market. We don't have good public transportation connections, but you are welcome to borrow our car.
    We have a couple of bicycles you can borrow too, as well as surfboards, body boards and an inflatable paddle board.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I also work from home. We have decent, dependable wifi sufficient enough to stream movies, etc.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week per person

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 419319519628