Help restore an ancient farm in “Les Cévennes”, south of France, close to Nîmes

Country

France

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Three families live in this "hameau", we share many moments and projects together. Our part is an old farm which was a family residential house. Corinne (me) decided to bet on it at 55, after a good life as an architect, mother of three sons, etc... Since two years many people went through to help her transform this old farm on a lifely place. Julia is working with her since three months as a specialist of restauration and together, they organize cooperating projects. We reach to go slowly and with simplicity to a "smooth" life in a respectfull place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improvement in french. When a cooperative project, it’s possible to learn old building’s techniques, like traditional coating (straw and lime).

  • Help

    Help

    We are working to restore an ancient farm in “Les Cévennes” (south of France, close to Nîmes). Many works are planned (construction, landscaping, clearing… with a permaculture philosophy) and they will be organized in two ways :

    From an individual way (maintenance work) or into a cooperative form (group of volunteers hosted for a weekend or a week).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english and a little bit of spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be hosted in a double or a triple room during the cooperative project. Single room or complete apartments are available when an individual project or for a longer stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We’re located near two cities at 5 km. A bus allows to reach easily the train station in Nîmes. "Les Cévennes" is located between sea (35km) and mountains 20 km), it's a place full of alternatives ways of life. We have three different kitchens and bathrooms wich could offer autonomy ant intimacy when wanted. Some of us talk english and we like to mix people and culture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

The house where we are living
view from the south
Sharing lunch with the permaculture team
our place from the sky

Host ref number: 419179673667