Local project for children in Sleman, Indonesia, to be brave and talk about their dream!

Country

Indonesia

Favourited 160 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1457

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Sugeng Rawuh, welcome to our place. Our house in the rice fields in my family hometown in Jogja, Indonesia. Every holiday we usually make some social project for children around our neighborhood.

    We teach them about traditional dancing, organic farming, paper recycling, drawing batik, etc. We want you to join with us play and learn together with all the children in our village.

    Little bit about me as an organizer, my name is Bernadia I'm a psychology student who interest with education and children. I have been working for assistant teacher for disability students, and experience with teaching for rural children for almost 4 years. My reason to do this project, after I did my simple assessment about what those children need is to be brave talk about their future dream. In this global era they can't just study in formal school, as Howard Gardner said (Theory of Multiple Intelligences) that we need to develop many abilities from children. So I want to share about the important thing of communication, open minded, and creativity.

    There's so many thing I want to share and learn from you, hope you can make my dream come true with join this social project.

    "“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”
    ― Mahatma Gandhi

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Okay, so we want to make a really interesting social project!!!!
    For this year we gonna pick "Dream and Hope", why we choose this topic? We want children to be brave to achieve their dream and open their experience and knowledge about the world. Dream and hope are the basic of life, the power to push our self to be better people.

    The reason why I need you guys to join with this project because, we want you to share your best experience about your journey and inspire them.

    Date: 23-24 and 30-31 January 2016
    *For preparation I hope you can stay at my home from two days before the social project

    Session:
    23 January :
    English class
    Music Class

    24 January:
    English class
    Traditional Dance

    30 January:
    English class
    Craft class

    31 January:
    Exhibition and closing concert (we will watch movie and sing together)

    We need someone who openness to experience, enjoy to share their journey, and have a high adaptability and flexible, and the most important is respect the culture.
    You will work with some friends of mind a psychology student, so we hope you can enjoy work with them.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    From yogyakarta to our place you can take taxi to this address or go to jombor station bus and gonna call my gardener to pick you up.

    You can sleep at my house from 21-31 Janury 2015, we just have a basic mattress and pillow. You will get the breakfast and time to getting around with us around village and Jogjakarta. For the accommodation from airport or station we can't pick you up but we will give the direction. But you have opportunity to learn batik and organic farming with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What you can do when time off:
    1. We can learn organic farming together with many tropical plant
    2. Learn Indonesia cuisine
    3. Go to traditional market or visit a traditional tofu process
    4. We can go around to Yogyakarta : we have a plan to visit several beaches
    5. Fishing in my little pond
    6. Yoga class (*for this one we gonna take some charge fee)

    Public transport is lil bit difficult and very much time to wait for. Therefore renting a car, mitorbike, or bicycle is an easy way to explore surrounding area.

    For more information please contact me via my Workaway profile

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours for saturday and sunday


Host ref number: 417246254867