Be part of our caring family and help with our little one in Revelstoke, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!  We are a small family of three (four including our friendly dog Odin); we live in Revelstoke, BC - a fantastic, outdoorsy little town in the heart of the mountains.   We are looking for childcare for our Daughter who will be 14 months in April.  We would also love some help around the home as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a home away from home and a caring family to be an active part of.  You'll have the opportunity to experience our way of life... from the day to day things such as family meal times, discussing the days antics, and to join us on adventures and activities when we can get out on them.  

    Revelstoke is a fantastic little town, it offers wild, mountainous beauty and an active, welcoming community;  aspects that convinced us to make it our home.  There is so much to see and experience here, whether you're in to hiking, biking, climbing, foraging or just finding a quiet spot by the river to relax.

    It is great place if you love to be outside and active. In the Summer months you're welcome to borrow one of our townie bikes so you can get out and about; and if they're the right size you can borrow one of our mountain bikes. The Winter months turn Revelstoke into a winter wonderland and a skier's / boarders paradise.  My partner helps coordinate the Revelstoke Adaptive Sports Program, which if you're with us in Winter, you could help volunteer with, making new friends and having rewarding fun with the participants.  

  • Help

    Help

    We're hoping to find someone who is a great match for our family.... It is important to us to find the right person as you will be caring for our most important little person. We would like you to feel part of the family and for everyone to be comfortable and happy together.

    We're pretty easy going; our daughter is friendly and generally very happy. We're in our late thirties and run a campground, so essentially we work from home and one of us will typically always be around. Summer can get pretty busy which is why we need some help with our little one. The help may include providing her meals (prepping basic meals / snacks); going to playgroups; caring for her at home; following the current routine / outline we have in place for her such as naps, activities including getting outside. In addition to childcare, some help around the home such as light cleaning, dog walking, grocery shopping, helping to keep up with house chores etc would be great.

    We will need help from April 2020 and to go on until October... possibly longer for the right person. Because you'll be building a relationship with us, and vice versa, we would want you to commit to staying a minimum 3 months, but ideally you'd want to stay until October. In exchange for room and board we would want up to 20 hours per week of child care/help, with some flexibility over days / times / hours.

    Previous experience with baby sitting /child care would be great... and if you have basic first aid, that would be a plus.

    We're a non-smoking household and would prefer a non-smoker. No extra pets as we have a dog here already.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live quite close to the town centre, it's just 2km away, so an easy 20 minute walk or short bike / bus ride (the bus stop is very close).  The Columbia River is just a few minutes walk away.  We have a fairly spacious home and property.  The bedroom we have available is on the ground floor, we sleep upstairs.  The room is furnished and has a queen bed, the "downstairs' bathroom is just next door.
    Food / meals - are included. Breakfast & Lunch are fend for yourself (with supplied house groceries - particular dietary requirements would need to be discussed). Dinner is typically a shared, family event with us each taking turns cooking (we would ask you to cook dinner 1-2 times a week). We do eat meat (though not essential with every meal) and enjoy lots of fresh vegetables and fruit.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see and do with your time off.... as mentioned you're welcome to borrow one of our bikes or ask us for pointers on things to do.  There are some great camp-spots and hikes to experience and if you're wanting to go further afield for a few days Poparide is a pretty handy tool for getting to places such as Banff / Lake Louise.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours

Host ref number: 416513758757