Explore the Art of a balanced and sustainable way of living in Peckham, London, (Seeking responsible, happy volunteers)

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 1684 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    60  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and join me in sustainably refurbishing my house in the artistic hub of Peckham (Zone 2). I’m looking for volunteers who are interested in a genuine exchange of culture and skills. My current focus is on general maintenance and building work and some practical DIY related skills would definitely be an advantage as would a willingness to learn some new skills. You would be mainly helping as an assistant to me and working more independently on jobs like painting and sanding. I am also in need of help with more general things like gardening, shopping, cooking and cleaning. Preference will be given to volunteers who are able to work independently and possess an ability to see what regular jobs need doing and take care of them. I can accommodate two single individuals or a couple in the room that I have available for Workawayers. I have a couple of rooms in the house that are dedicated to paying guests but workawayers are no longer asked to help or get involved with this aspect of my set-up aside from the common courtesies involved in the sharing of communal living space.

    IMPORTANT: You must be at least 24 years old, have one positive Workaway review (previous Host feedback). I generally offer an initial trial period of a week and then together we can discuss the arrangement and agree the duration of your stay, please be sure to check our calendar before applying.

    I’m an artist and photographer who has spent time traveling the world and teaching fine art and photography here in the UK. I embarked on this project two years ago to transform my Victorian house into a multi-use home with room for lodgers, international guests, and plenty of studio space. I’ve hosted dozens of workawayers since then, teaching them about alternative living and sustainably renovating a house whilst sharing my philosophy of exploring life and work as an ongoing meditation practice. In exchange, they’ve shared their cultures, skills, cuisines, and lifestyles with me. It is this environment of genuine human connection and growth that I endeavour to continue. I love to host people who are independent and creative, balancing a curiosity to learn new skills with the freedom to think for themselves.

    The house is a quiet oasis, featuring a beautiful garden in the middle of one of London’s buzziest neighbourhoods. The heart of Peckham is only a few minutes walk away, including the train station and a host of bus stops that will whizz you to anywhere in London and beyond. Our neighbourhood is a multicultural and artistic area where you can find a range of delicious food options, from Thai and Indian to 'right proper' south London pubs and cafes. Peckham, voted best place to live in London, also offers endless entertainment, from rooftop bars & cinemas, to 'Peckham Levels' a multi-story car park converted into a hip hub of art, food, bars, gyms and yoga studios. Within walking distance there are several supermarkets, specialty shops, a weekly farmers market, and an abundance of beautiful parks.

    I strive to create a truly open and interesting community within the house, whether that’s cooking eclectic foods from around the globe or enjoying long conversations over coffee. While you will have plenty of privacy and free time, there is always a good bit of banter between me, my friends, other workawayers, and guests from around the world. If you’re an open-minded and curious person looking to experience and share new things, I invite you to contact us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many years ago I used to teach English and I have taught Fine Art, Photography and Digital Print. I also have many other cooking and construction skills that I am happy to share.

    There is always a lot of varied and interesting projects to work on here and as my reviews suggest for those willing to put in some effort with good spirit and humour there are plenty of new skills and knowledge and friendships to take away with you. My hope is that eventually the space that I am creating here will become a rich and inspiring environment for both creative collaborations and dialogue to occur in.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are an honest person and have plenty of independence you will be welcome to help and learn (and teach) on this project. The things that I will need help with are many and varied, sometimes building and maintenance related, sometimes with the household and cooking and cleaning etc. also at times I need assistance with Arts projects and the internet.

    I suggest that volunteers come for one week at first, then if it all works out we can negotiate the duration of the stay. You will need to be physically fit and we are happy to take either one or two single individuals or a couple.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A shared bedroom with two separate single beds use of the communal bathroom and kitchen. Bedding and towels provided and use of the washing machine, we also have a fast broadband connection that you can connect to. Also, I let rooms out on a short term basis and some areas of the house are undergoing renovations, so some flexibility may occasionally be required if we need to make room for works or paying guests. Please note that you could be sharing the room with another Workaway volunteer and they may be of a different sex and age to you.

    Usually the days go a bit like like this:
    We have our breakfast at around 7.30 so that we are ready to start with our tasks at 8am. At around 11am we stop for tea/coffee and cake/biscuits and then continue with our projects until 1.30pm. At about 2-2.30pm we eat a substantial lunch together. After lunch the afternoons and evenings can be used to explore the many things that London has to offer or you can just chill in the house, and the weekends are all yours to do with as you wish!

    I also provide a bicycle and a lock for workawayers to use to explore the neighbourhood and London. However, I do expect servicing and repairs to be the responsibility of the user.

    I'm afraid I don't provide food or meals in the evenings or at the weekends but you are welcome to buy your own food and to use the kitchen facilities to prepare your own meals on the condition that you keep it clean both as you're cooking and thoroughly afterwards, so that others may enjoy using the kitchen either at the same time or later - I'm very strict about this - so please take note! Having said that we do sometimes invite each other and eat together in the evenings and weekends but it's on a more relaxed, casual and invitation type basis.

    I am fairly adaptable and open to alternative arrangements but the key here is negotiation, we can come to an agreement, put it into practice and then review it after a few days to check that we are all happy and remain happy with the reality of the arrangement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Noisy, vibrant and truly multicultural, London is a megalopolis of people, ideas and frenetic energy. The capital and largest city of both England and of the United Kingdom. Considered one of the world's leading "global cities", London remains an international capital of culture, music, education, fashion, politics, finance and trade.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Party time
Tea break
Lunchtime
Shower room
A garden sculpture
The busy bit of our street
Warwick gardens, our local park
Sunny spot for breakfast
Our gorgeous garden
Our well equipped kitchen
Cosy bedroom overlooking the garden.
Fantastic London!
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)



































Host ref number: 416395476721