Stay with a Magic family and help with childcare in Amsterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for a last minute female workawayer. Sorry if your request is for a future date we don't have the time to answer all the gentle and thoughtful messages and requests received for plans in the future .
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    We are a Magic Family of three. Father+Mother+ Daughter. We are performance artists and travel the world doing magic. "W" he is a magician and mentalist, and the other "W" she is an oracle and mind reader, and the baby she is 4 years old, she is "Magic".

    W, he studied anthropology and is among other things an ethno botanist and a beekeeper.
    W, she studied jungian psychology and philosophy and is alongside passionate about hypnosis and improv theatre.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You get an insight on a Dutch artistic family life.

    We are fascinated and interested in all cultures. Hearing the life stories of others and sharing our own life experiences, feeling like "one people" is important to us.

    We communicate in Dutch and English at home and mother speaks English and father speaks Dutch with the daughter.

    As much as we love the mystical and rational magic world we live in, Equally we are passionate about biodiversity, plants, healing with plants, bees and gardening and have a garden, if you enjoy some earth tasks and some knowledge of the plants by 'W', join us in the garden and likewise share your own insights.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help we need from you...
    What we would like from you is connection, connecting to yourself connecting to your inner child;

    -Bonding : that Bonding with our little girl is the main priority, so that we can cherish you helping us with our daughter. Let it be about bonding In the morning , in the afternoon, in the evening. imagine seeing your smaller little sister and finding her so cute and you shine some affection to her, cause it's in your nature.

    -Chill: To just sit at her level on the ground , where her eyes are, that's where your eyes are and chill for a moment observing her and making her feel comfortable with your presence , as often as possible, to be genuinely interested in her without being in her space. she just continues doing what she's doing. And you don't interact with her particularly but are at the level of her physical body getting her to be familiar with having you around her.

    -undirected attention: Not do too much but just be there. Like if she is drawing you can grab your own paper and draw on your own paper. Imitate her like other children also would do. And if you interact, maybe just so that She feels the connection with you. that she feels seen and that you feel seen.

    -Non-action: practical things our daughter can do herself." If she spills Something on the ground, to encourage her to clean it. If she drops her fork on the floor , to encourage her to fetch it herself. It's anyway her favorite thing ; to do everything by herself. So giving her the capacity to do things by herself, that in life it is so, makes her feel understood and happy and in this way she learns to be independent.

    -Choices : give her choices. :"would you like to wear this or that "."Would you like to read this book or that book "."Would you like to go to bed making a fuss or are you going to bed quietly and close your eyes sweetly." Giving her choices she is more likely going to say yes to one of the two choices. This also makes her realize that there are choices and she is the one ultimately going to have to figure out what are better choices with better outcomes that bring peace to her inner being.

    -Imaginative Play : you telling her let's make food for the stuffed animals. Or letting her make an imaginative cup of tea for you. Playing with her Playmobil is something she really cherishes.

    The above are fundamental details. Because if you get it . Then it is truly helpful to have you around because when we have to go to work, our daughter is just as happy to stay with you as with us.

    We hope you get a real connection and feel happy. We thrive to give you the same.
    -------------------------


    some evenings in the week days and mostly Saturday and Sunday afternoon until the evening that's when we work and could really benefit from you helping out taking care of our daughter for some hours on your own.

    Thank you for helping out!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    -8 square room. Single bed.
    - shared bathroom
    - shared kitchen

    You are welcome to join family dinners (all organic bio foods) (we will definitely let you taste some Dutch cuisine as well, for a cultural experience) and you are most welcome to cook whenever you like. It's a sharing experience.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Amstelveen at the border of Amsterdam South.
    Access to transportation, bus to Amsterdam city center and airport. Nice bicycle rides.
    Nature food store around the corner and other food stores just a street away.
    Next to the forest of Amsterdam and very special Dutch gardens (think Japanese gardens) with protected Dutch plant and flower species.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 414896128563