Help out on our land and enjoy rustic living in the Alberni Valley, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated   Last minute

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Living and working in beautiful Alberni Valley, British Columbia, Canada. We live in a fifth wheel and try to live as simply as we can and outdoors as much as we can. It is about five miles from town in a rural area. This is the heart of the temperate forests and nearby there are old growth forests, lakes and mountains. ALERT... it rains a lot here during spring and then it is hot here in the valley during summer... anything up to 34 degrees C. You will need to like the heat and be prepared for lots of rain at times.

    Some projects on the go..... Clearing up remains of tree felling. Chopping and gathering wood. Spring cleaning the trailers, inside and out. Tending to the veggie garden. Lifting, pulling, pushing, carting.... if you are up to a lot of manual hard work then this is the place for you!!! We have had a tough winter and need help with lots of tidying.

    Best suited for a couple as hiking and exploring can be more fun together.

    We are a couple that have traveled, I was bought up in Africa and am gluten free diet and my husband is a musician and Vegan.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This area is the gateway to some of the worlds best kayaking, hiking, surfing, atving, and outdoor activities. Barclay sound, Tofino, Ucluelet and Banfield are an hour away. Port Alberni which is our nearest town is an old logging town and there is an old steam mill nearby. If you like the outdoors and living rustic this is the place for you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for some heavy lifting help. Fetching and carrying wood. Burning some wood piles. Chopping wood and planting and getting the vegetable patch ready as well as housework. Old clothes and gumboots are a must although we can probably supply these.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a fifth wheel and our guests stay in a small caravan (trailer) which could have three double beds at a push. There is a table and fixed boothlike seats. There is a fridge. It is a "retro" trailer and our guests like it. Heating is provided from an outdoors woodburning fire which pipes heat into the units.
    A toilet, shower and bathroom in the fifth wheel plus an outside toilet and a big bath in an outhouse. Cooking can be done outside on the barbeque and stove or in the fifth wheel.
    We live in close quarters inside but have 5 acres to work on.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop on the road beside the property and walking to downtown would take 20 minutes. Some restaurants and coffee shops in town. The Francis Barclay is a working boat that takes passengers down to Banfield and to a hotel that kayakers can stay at that takes them to Barclay sound islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day









Host ref number: 414867929315