Looking for creative, artistic individuals at our guesthouse near the beach in Puerto Escondido, Mexico

  • Mexico
  • Favourited 203 times
  • Last activity: 08/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We're Olivia and Alfredo, and we run a guesthouse with five private cabanas two blocks from the beach in Puerto Escondido, Mexico. We live on-site and like to keep things interesting for our guests! We give on-site Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, boxing, and Muay Thai classes. We organize surf and kayak trips with clients, hikes and runs, the occasional cooking competition, and lots and lots of musical jam sessions. Olivia is a writer and Alfredo is a musician and martial artist, and we both love cooking, making music, and dancing salsa, and connecting with creative, disciplined, self-motivated individuals. Our ideal workawayers will be goal-oriented and active, and interested in having a good time in Puerto, too! We don't care much about how many hours you spend each day working, so long as what needs to get done, gets done!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be living in a private cabana on our property, most of which was built by us. We're Alfredo (Mexican) & Olivia (Canadian/American), Alfredo's father also lives here, as well as Ebi, our 1.5 year old English Bull Terrier, and Kuma and Tora, our two cats.

    We can offer you vocal coaching, writing help, language exchange (Spanish, French, English) and both of us have ample personal experience in personal discipline and growth. Martial arts, meditation, and conscious, intentional living are some of our core values and things we love to share with others. We like to integrate guests and volunteers alike in our activities when there's a good vibe, and share the connections we have here in the middle of a vibrant surf and yoga community.

  • Help

    Help

    PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE MESSAGING!!

    What we need help with is general building, carpentry, concrete, and landscaping skills. Experience with power tools, concrete, superadobe and/or hyperadobe a huge plus, as we have a project in the works for the coming months.

    We can always use help with the yard/garden, maintenance and beautification, as well as talented and experienced visual artists, muralists, painters, or crafters to give the place some soul.

    Cleaning, aside from general cleaning up after yourself, is taken care of by hired cleaners, so we're NOT looking for housekeeping! Nor are we looking for general hospitality / reception / anyone "willing to learn" how to build and use power tools. Please be ready to tell us what skills you already have, if you can't this probably isn't a good fit for you :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private cabana available for workawayers. It has one double bed (loft) and one single bed, a desk and chair, a mosquito net, and a fan. The kitchen is shared with us and other guests, as are the bathrooms and yard. I love to cook and usually invite volunteers to a meal, but we don't have a set schedule or defined "X amount of meals per week" system in place yet. We can discuss that and accommodate your preferences (home cooked meals or a food/groceries allowance) should you decide to come and join our crew!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Puerto Escondido is home to one of the best surf breaks in the world, and if you don't know how to surf, there are lots of surf schools to choose from. There are also yoga and meditation classes all over town, lots of clubs and dance venues, live music, colorful markets and a variety of restaurants to choose from. We have a scooter that can possibly be rented for local trips, and there are tons of local buses (colectivos) that can take you all over town for just a few pesos. We're in a very walkable part of town, too, and there are tons of things to do within a 10 minute walk of our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The cabana we have for workawayers has a desk space and we have fiber optic internet on the property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 413995715824

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Come and teach English or French at non-for-profit small community kindergarden in Cuernavaca, Morelos
Help with permaculture, conservation and community projects in Veracruz, Mexico