Join us at our small family hobby farm on the edge of the Peak District, UK

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family that runs a small farm as a hobby near to the edge of the Peak District national park in the centre of the UK.

    Our farm has a few animals (pigs, goats, chickens, geese) and pets (dogs, cats and rabbits) and we are always looking for people to learn more about animals and the countryside while helping out.

    The farm has great views over the Peak District and it is fantastic just to be outside working in nature. The area itself is very rural and offers great opportunities for outdoor activities as well as to explore small market towns.

    For those wanting to use the farm as a base to explore, we are about 30 mins by train to Manchester and and hour and a half to London.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you improve your English as well as understand a little more about living in the UK.

    Additionally, we will help you learn more about caring for animals and for nature.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have jobs to do around the farm.

    Helping out feeding and looking after the animals.
    Working with us to clear land and prepare new areas of the farm.
    General physical and outdoor work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech, (SOME) German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room within the farmhouse with a shared bathroom.

    You can have access to the kitchen and other living areas - either to prepare food yourselves or to eat with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are fairly flexible about the working patterns - as long as they fit with helping to feed our animals - so days off and trips can be arranged to suit us all.

    The local area is great for walking, cycling and horse riding.

    Public transport is a bit limited (so having a driving license would be useful) but we might be able to give you access to a car and the nearest train station is about 5 miles away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 413845846113