Come enjoy a very beautiful quiet rural setting in which it is easy to find a more natural rhythm in Llandysul, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    344

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello I'm Manda and I live with my partner Ian in an old stone farmhouse set in a two acre wooded garden with three stone barns in a small rural village in West Wales, along with chickens and peacocks. I teach art, run healing circles, paint, write and enjoy cooking. Ian makes wooden canoes, log cabins and runs bushcraft and nature awareness courses. He enjoys expeditions by canoe or motorbike. We hold a dream of creating beautiful spaces where people can come to delight in the simple pleasures of nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a very beautiful quiet rural setting in which it is easy to find a more natural rhythm. There is much here to inspire your creativity.
    Ian has many skills particularly working with wood and loves to share his knowledge of the natural world. He would be keen have company on canoe outings in one of his hand built wooden canoes.
    We both enjoy trips to the beach which is about 25 minutes away by car.
    There are lots of places to walk.
    Many of the residents of this village speak Welsh and there is a water powered woolen mill, which was originally the main industry along with farming, in this part of Wales.
    I run healing retreats here and have a particular interest in working with the spirit of the land and would love to share in making small magical spaces.

  • Help

    Help

    We have three main areas we need help with.
    1. IT.
    We both have very little skill with computers, both of us have a Mac book air. We both have websites, mine needs up dating and re jigging. I also would like help with adobe indesign as I need to set a book out ready for the printers. We both also feel we are not understanding how to get the best and or most efficient use out of our computers.

    2. Building work.
    We are in the process of converting one of the barns into a living space. This is well underway and there is a kitchen/ living room and sleeping platform completed. We are now putting in a bathroom. This involves some structural work outside - stone work, pointing. As well as the internal build and plumbing.

    3. In the garden.
    *️️️️️General maintanence - de brambling, getting the veg patch ready and planted up, pruning, grass cutting.
    *️️️️️New projects - re structuring some of the lawns and beds, putting in new paths.
    *️️️️️Creating beautiful little spaces for people to discover.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Ian speaks limited French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have three bedrooms in the house of which we have one. In both of the other two there is a double bed.
    The house is south facing with large windows over looking part of the garden. There is a bathroom and toilet upstairs and a shower room and toilet down stairs.
    The kitchen is set out for someone who loves to cook with a large table to sit and share food, conversation and laughter. I'm happy to cook or share or be cooked for. We eat meat, but I'm also experienced at providing vegetarian or vegan meals. Enjoying food is something both Ian and I share.

    We also have the partly converted barn, with its own kitchen/ longe and sleeping platform, you would need to use the shower room and toilet in the house, which is a very short walk away.

    The house and barn are heated by log burning stoves and in the house a log fueled rayburn.

    If your stay is in good weather there is also the option of camping in the woodland garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is limited public transport in the village but a willingness to lift share from ourselves friends and neighbours. We can collect from mainline bus and train stations, and provide bicycles for local exploring.
    There is a canoe centre in the nearest town and many outdoor activities both on the coast (which has its own populations of seals, dolphines and harbour porposes) and inland.
    There is the coastal path and the Brecon Beckons national park for hiking trips.
    There are many arts and crafts workers and places to participate or just look at what is being created.
    There are many local eco projects and people keen to explore alternative ways of living.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 413816464161