Come and help on our organic farm in British Columbia (Canada)

Country

Canada

Favourited 185 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been farming organically for over 35 years.We grow a variety of vegetables, fruit ,and hay. We are growing food, bringing in the hay, watering, feeding the horses, general maintenance, etc. We are 5 min from Okanagan Lake for swimming , Peachland is our nearest town, also 5 min away, close to hiking trails . The closest big city is Kelowna, which is 25 min away. We have a trailer for short term stays, and a cabin for a long term arrangement. We are currently seeking an assistant farm manager for next season, and/ or a caretaker for the winter, which includes free rent and some pay. Email for more info. We eat vegetarian in the house, but meat can be cooked on barbecue at the trailer or cabin. No drugs or alcohol consumed during work hours. Please get in touch if you are interested, thanks , Jessica and Joe

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Organic farming, English, maintaining a farm, cooking skills, art, swimming, involvement with local culture.

  • Help

    Help

    growing food ( weeding, planting, hoeing, transplanting, harvesting ), feeding horses, general maintenance ( building, repairing, ), cooking, bringing in the hay, watering around the farm, having fun !

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Short term stay in a trailer with water and electricity April-Oct.Has bathroom and shower. Long term stay in fully furnished cabin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask for 4-6 hours a day, 5 days a week. There is bus service to Kelowna. We can give rides sometimes. There is lots of nature to see, wineries, cities, farmers markets, etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Summer only

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 413211778369