Organic Farm in Viota, Cundinamarca. Smallholding with some cattle, fish ponds, fruit trees, veggie patch, beeking and 2 humans and 3 dogs. Colombia

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    413

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We want to live on and from the land following organic principles. We used to live in London and worked in corporate jobs until June 2013, after which we did some volunteering in UK and in Italy. We are a family of 2.

    We started living on our farm in 2014. We knew very little about farming and the country life in general. It has been a very steep learning curve, with ups and downs and loads of happy moments and some dissapointments and frustrations. We are still learning and trying things and we are better at things in general. At the moment one of our projects is to produce "chuculas" to make artisanal hot chocolate :).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers wil get a sense of living in the tropics outside big cities, we live a simple life and we like sharing our life with others.

  • Help

    Help

    There are lots of activities done in the farm, and many projects in which volunteers can help.
    Volunteers will usually help with the veggie patch, fruit picking and processing and helping with the daily drill of feeding animals. Depending on the season we will also be fertilizing, planting trees and weeding.

    We currently have tropical fruit trees mainly mango and citrus trees , beef cattle (10), bee hives (20) and 4 small ponds for fish farming (non organic).

    No experience requiered! We will guide you on all activitites.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room, 1 double bed. Max. 2 volunteers at a time. Families are welcome. Food is provided. We are not vegetarians, though not big meat eaters. We eat simple healthy food, lentils, chickpeas, beans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport from Bogota is super easy. Around 3 hrs bus drive, and then we will pick you up from the main road. There are not many attractions around the farm, you could walk around, maybe go to the river (45 min walk) or to town (need to take a bus). Eventhough we live close to Bogota we are quiet rural.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 413198151776

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more