Live well, volunteer, play and relax in the Kootenays, Nelson BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Cyndi and my husband Todd and I live on our small farm located 5 km from Nelson BC. and one km from the beach. Mountain biking, hiking , swimming and kayaking opportunities abound. Our property is tidy, peaceful and the perfect distance from the vibrant arts town of Nelson. We need help maintaining our vegetable gardens and with some miscellaneous odd jobs on the land with fruit, berries and flowers and some repairs and maintenance and care of buildings. WE have a 100 year old log barn on the property we are restoring.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The natural beauty if this area combined with opportunity to work, engage, relax and play is what we offer. You will be participating with us in the growing of food and the pleasures of eating the freshest vegetables, fruits and eggs.We are happy to help you with learning English, ( I am a published author and have many years of experience with supporting students in learning.)You will also have the opportunity to learn about growing food and caring humanely for chickens. We enjoy fireside chats, potluck meals, and evening swims. (Weather permitting)

  • Help

    Help

    We grow all kinds of veggies, fruits and berries and need help with planting, picking,weeding, and processing. We also need help with landscaping and simple building repair and construction. If you love rock work there might be a project or two with that as well. You are the kind of person who can work independently or with others. You are healthy and hard working, and able to laugh easily.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private, clean and beautiful little one room cabin. Nice outdoor toilet. Meals with us. A bedroom in our home is also sometimes available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is bus service available to Nelson several times each day, M-F. and a bit less so on the weekend. We will happily coordinate rides back and forth to Nelson as possible as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The barn. We are restoring the barn and I imagine lovely meals on long tables inside.
A very serene cabin at the top of the property! A favourite place for a good night's sleep.
Basil in our large veggie garden.
The greenhouse. Tomatoes, cucumbers, basil etc.
We grow a lot of flowers!
Our family.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 399595757641