Help out a multicultural family of four with your skills near Leon, Guanajuato, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a multicultural family of four: wife and husband and two daughters (4 and 6 year old), living in the mountains near Leon, Guanajuato. It is a beautiful nature reserve where we operate a small refurbished shipping container hotel, produce artisanal mezcal, brew beer and make wine.

    I am a photographer and my husband is a hotelier/event producer. We love a good home cooked meal made with local ingredients, preferably cooked on the fire and shared al-fresco with our friends under our favorite tree.

    The place we live in is called Vergel de la Sierra in Sierra de Lobos, Guanajuato. It has about 30 lakes, a beautiful oak tree forest and lots of hiking trails. It has a Carsolio rock climbing structure and is a paradise for campers and nature lovers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The travelers coming to stay with us will benefit from living in a beautiful place, which is very different from the rest of Mexico. They'll be treated like family and will get to learn about hotel business, mezcal, beer and wine making processes. We entertain often, so our visitors will get to know many interesting people - some Mexican, some foreigners.

  • Help

    Help

    Our children are unschooled so people good with kids and with affinity for teaching are welcome.

    Also we're looking to build a greenhouse and start planting herbs and vegetables for our own use and for local sale.

    If you have experience tending a garden or building a greenhouse, we could use your help. We're also in the process of standardizing and organizing all our operation to increase efficiency of our employees - we can use people good with structure and excellent organizational skills. We have founded a bio-dynamic winery recently and make natural wines. If you have experience in this field, we definitely would love to have you. If you're an experienced brewer, you should definitely come and stay with us, because we have recently started making beer and we are always open to new ideas.

    We are also interested in learning film-making and introduction to clothes making. Mukasha imports Uzbek textiles and would love to learn to turn them into wearables.

    If you have a set of skills not mentioned here that you think we may benefit from, please don't hesitate to let us know - we're open!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare room with a ming size bed in our house with it’s own bathroom. Common areas are shared with us. Depending on the occupancy, there might be a possibility for you to spend a few nights a week in one of the refurbished shipping containers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a somewhat remote location, with no nightlife around or shops. The closest city is about 40 min my car. We have weekly trips to the town in case you need to get any neccessities, or there is a bus service available as well. The place is ideal for people who don’t mind being away from the daily hustle and bustle for a prolonged periods of time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 399594459968