Join our eco-minded community and help on our small hobby farm, Denman Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small 3 acre hobby farm, mainly vegetables, fruit, chickens and rabbits plus 2 dogs and 2 cats. 5 minutes from the beach with ocean and mountain views all round. Located on Denman Island BC a vibrant eco-minded community of about 1200, including many artists and potters and a rich music and entertainment calendar. We are close to wonderful mountain wilderness areas and the wild Pacific Rim coast. Mike is a retired architect, Selinda a retired language teacher, interpreter and high-end clothing store owner. We are non-vegetarian/omnivorous and passionate about food.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are originally immigrants from England and Portugal, resident in BC since 1982. We love to engage in cultural exchanges with our helpers learning and teaching about today's issues in each of our countries and in the World at large.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly garden maintenance and harvesting in season, including preparation of veg beds, compost turning, pruning, use of chainsaws and other power tools. House maintenance including painting, window washing, use of ladders and heavy lifting. Potentially construction of a new greenhouse. Potential for electrical systems maintenance and help with computer issues.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large private bedroom with small en-suite bathroom attached to the main house, including a kitchen sink, fridge and microwave, but with no cooking facilities. 3 meals a day eaten together with the hosts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bikes and kayaks that helpers can use in their free time. We are 90 minutes drive from the ski slopes of Mount Washington. There are many great walking trails (beach and forest) on Denman and nearby Hornby Island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 399174122316