Some painting, some gardening, help with old buildings

Country

Ireland

Favourited 407 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update for September 2015 - apologies to anyone we did not reply to, we have not been hosting since Spring, as have been busy renovating the house.

    We live in an old coach house in Wicklow about 30 minutes south of Dublin and would be delighted to host workawayers who can lend a hand!

    We are Irish/Spanish couple in our 30s, our dog Muffin, and Keith the cat, though Keith lives outside.

    Nearest town is Greystones that has train links to Dublin and beyond, and also south to Wicklow. Greystones is on the Dart line which is the metro type train to Dublin.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Below is a bit dated: we have now converted the garages to living space, and now painting etc and applying finishing touches. We need some help tidying the garden and yard immediately around the house. Most of the clearing land has been done.

    I have about 6 acres of garden and land here which is very overgrown, so need help clearing that and need help to plant it once cleared.

    Not sure yet exactly what to do with the rest of the land; I want to layout some of it for vegetable and build a chicken run. Definitely open to ideas with what to do with it all.

    Also help with restoring old stone walls, renovating the outbuildings, some painting and decorating in the house. Nothing too specialist though if you have building or carpentry skills/experience that is brilliant!

    In the short term my most pressing requirement is to fix the garden around the house and make it look pretty. No experience required for that, just enthusiasm and good ideas!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two spare bedrooms in the house, but ideally looking for a couple. Use of own bathroom. Can offer meals, and free rein of house and facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Can maybe provide shared use of car (subject to insurance approval), internet etc - basically willing to share my house as your own.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approx 5 per day, weather permitting






Host ref number: 398176554965