Help maintain and create gardens in the Pyrenees.

Country

France

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/03/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Having designed, built and maintained gardens in the UK for 12 years I am now retired and wanting to create a really exciting garden at our house in South West France. Doug still works in his own business - internet services, which luckily he can work at over here. He hates gardening anyway so won't be helping me! We are very sociable and often have friends to stay as well as friends visiting for lunches and dinners. Our four children - 32, 30, 28 and 25 visit regularly too, in the summer lazing around the pool and in the winter for the skiing and snowboarding, and in between times because its such a lovely area.

    2013 workawayers, Paula and Simon and Kat and Rachel, and Adrien thank you so much for the work you did and the fun times we had. The garden and house looked beautiful for the wedding thanks to you guys!

    Pip and Simon continued the transformation in 2014 and helped settle in our new 'lawnmowers' - 4 soay sheep and 3 geese. Thank you to Silvia who has already been in 2015 and we are looking forward to welcoming other workawayers, we have another wedding to prepare for,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    I have a plan/design for the garden and need help with digging and cleaning the beds prior to planting. Once prepared I need help with the planting up.

    We would very much like to speak French, so a French speaker would be great but no problem if not.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an atelier and Doug's office next to the house. The atelier is completely separate and has two bedrooms, bathroom and lots of space upstairs as well as a kitchen area downstairs and lounge. The builders have just left so there is decorating to do - just the walls, windows are all new and already painted by daughter Sophie and her partner Gary who came and stayed for 10 weeks last year to help decorate the house. We moved in in 2012 although have lived in the area for 5 years on and off. So if the weather doesn't allow gardening we would like a hand with the painting, but the garden takes priority. But no experience required.

    We already have a vegetable garden for lovely fresh veg and have some chickens too. This year we added four Soay sheep to our family, they are rare breeds and we hope we will increase our flock in the spring when 'our girls' lamb. 'We also have 3 goslings, they are working as lawn mowers and are very cute. I love to cook and will enjoy making dishes for volunteers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours Monday to Friday

Pip and Simon helping with the pond. Had such a great time with them and many other workawayers, thank you all.
Baby Fern enjoying a cuddle
The geese
Our 'girls'
Doug and Claire
Jane in the kitchen
George the cockerel
Doug and Jane at local fete
Under the lime tree
Our house
The Pyrenees
In the Pyrenees








Host ref number: 394665271122