1 / 5

Stay in unique cohousing space with farm in Salt Lake City, USA



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    * Help Needed June 4th-17th and July!*

    I'm Emilie - I'm 33 years old and I live with 2 roommates in our cute 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom townhome! We have 2 cats and 1 dog. Our home is located in a unique intentional community called Cohousing. In Cohousing, we each have our own units, but we share the land our units are on! Here in the Cohousing Community, we have 4.5 acres of farm fields, forested areas, chickens, llamas, bonfires, and more!
    I love to garden, do yoga, hike, bike, soak in hot springs, travel, and talk about health and wellness, Ayurveda, and meditation! I'm originally from Brasil and have lived in a few different places in my lifetime. I've spent time farming in Massachusetts, building Earthships in New Mexico, and meditating at a Buddhist temple in California. I am looking for respectful guests that share the same interests, observe the house guidelines, and are pleasant to be around :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying in Cohousing is a unique experience! You will get to know our neighbors and participate in community events like Saturday morning coffee, potlucks, community gardening sessions, movie nights, community yoga, as well as attend a few meetings to learn how our collective decision-making process works! I'm also from Brasil, and love to talk to folks about my country, speak Portuguese if that's something you'd like to do, and cook delicious food.

  • Help


    These days the help I need is mostly around the house! I work 2 jobs and have many hobbies so my household chores always fall behind. These are the tasks I usually ask my workwayers for help with:

    - cleaning
    - laundry
    - groceries
    - errands
    - small fixes
    - yard work

    Depending on the time of the year there might be some work on the grounds like farming and taking care of chickens as well.

    If this resonates with you, I will be happy to host you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in practicing Spanish and French. I am also happy to speak Portuguese with you :)

  • Accommodation


    You will have a loft bedroom for yourself. It's accessible via a ladder on the 3rd floor. You'll have shelves in the pantry to store your food and you're welcome to use our full kitchen!

    You have to purchase and cook your own food, although I have a shelf of non-perishable foods you are welcome to use!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in Salt Lake City, so the possibilities with your time-off are endless! You are welcome to relax in the community (we have a meditation spiral, bonfire, lawn, etc), go hiking, biking, or skiing in the mountains. You can also explore hot springs, travel to the desert (about 3.5 hrs away) and see our National Parks, go up north to the Grand Tetons, explore the food scene downtown, etc etc!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you are a nomad, you're welcome to join us! I only have wired internet, so you need to have e-thernet set up on your computer.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a community parking lot where the van can park, probably not more than a few weeks at a time. I would have to get community clearance for that, but if this is your situation - let's talk!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 to 20 hrs/week

Host ref number: 389438582929

Feedback (10)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

Enjoy my property near the Sacramento River and Mount. Shasta, USA
Spend time with us on our family farm on beautiful Orcas island in the north-west corner of Washington state in the Salish sea, USA