Do you like wide open spaces, rural life or ranching? Come and lend a hand at our cattle ranch in rural Alberta

Country

Canada

Favourited 284 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family of 4, children ages 11 & 6. Non smokers, enjoy sports, animals and the outdoors. We are involved with sports and hobbies that take us all over the province of Alberta. We live on a cattle and horse ranch in a rural setting. Both parents are university educated and striving to combine both urban activities with rural lifestyle. It's busy but fun around our place and we always seem to be going somewhere. There are always things that need fixing / carpentry or cattle and horses that require attention. We work outside in the elements and around animals all year round.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Looking for someone who enjoys being outdoors and is capable of physical work. There are horses to ride if you are interested, kids that will want to play soccer and if you enjoy cooking at all that is a bonus! During the spring we are checking cattle, calving cows, feeding, fixing fence and during the summer there is moving cattle from pasture to pasture. Horses to work and sports events to attend.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest bedroom in the basement of the house or if you prefer, a separate recreational live in trailer located in the yard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are approximately an hour and a half from Edmonton and 3 and a half hours drive to Jasper National Park. If you have a valid license to drive in Canada it is a possibility to use one of our vehicles. Although there is no public transport to our ranch, we travel daily to the local town and usually a few times a week to the city of Edmonton. The weather is Canada, in the summer, is the nicer weather to be here in.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 387363989965