Help with a small orchard and herb farm one hour from Ankara

Country

Turkey

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

 
  • Description

    Description

    My aim is to establish an organic farm. The garden already has a variety of mature fruit trees and in summer we grow many vegetables for ourselves. There are ducks, chickens, dogs, cats, and a pigeon house too. One 50m2 greenhouse is for rooting aromatic plants (lavender, rosemary, thyme) and this needs careful attention. There is a lavender crop ready to harvest before September. In the summer irrigation/watering is a priority.

    My farmhouse has all the basic utilities (internet, tv, oven, refrigerator, toilet, shower, washing machine) and there is also a large yurt (where I usually sleep when I’m on the farm). The nearest supermarket is a 15 minute drive away, however there is rarely much traffic noise here. You will hear goat bells every morning.

    We need those people who enjoy real tranquility to read, write and think while HONESTLY + RESPECTFULLY providing support for us (Feeding the animals, greenhouse work, digging and sowing soil, weeding, making a natural hedge along the border fence, general maintenance is helpful and sometimes a bit of masonry and carpentry etc). Those who are happy to sometimes stay alone on the farm are especially welcome.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Watering, Gardening, Planting seedlings, Greenhouse work, maintenance, building, animal care, original projects & more

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Farmhouse with most mod-cons. Modern beds, hot shower, flush toilet, washing machine, large kitchen, two balconies, great views

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Ankara city center (Kızılay) to my farm house at Karacahasan-Elmadağ is a 1 hour drive with a stop to buy bread etc. There is no public transport from Elmadağ to Karacahasan.

    For those who like rural life it can be a nice experiment to observe central Anatolia's seasons and be involved in our rural culture . Ankara and the surrounding towns offer many famous & historic sites. I can provide any necessary information about these to volunteers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5




Host ref number: 385554478928