updated  

Help a stay at home Dad with home maintenance, tutoring, and voluntering, in SF Bay area, Oakland, USA

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    OAKLAND, ca, 94608 :D

    update : june, 2024
    you need to be vaccinated and your boosters need to be up to date.
    i would be dangerous and stupid to travel in the united states without fully up to date vaccines.



    Stay at home parent needs help with housework, home repairs and engaging our 11 year old kid while his Partner is working!

    you may also be asked to help out at a community bio-tech lab with me, or to volunteer with me at my kids school.

    We have two cats and a dog and live in the eastern part of the san francisco bay area, on an active city street.
    We are interested in learning new languages, customs and perspectives from around the world. We look forward to making new friends/family.
    the house needs constant cleaning and the yard needs daily maintenance a family of artists and gardeners generates constant cleanup, laundry, and dishes to be done, you will be amazed by the amount of laundry.
    ...

    PLEASE USE THE DATES OF YOUR INTENDED STAY AS YOUR SUBJECT HEADING! This helps me keep straight all the emails I get! Thank you! Also, please note, we prefer to book in time periods of around two weeks, and bookings fill up quickly, so knowing your exact dates helps a lot.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    counseling available,
    LGBTQ etc friendly, poly-friendly, religious friendly (as long as you're cool about it), friendly household, yes-and positive.
    we enjoy philosophizing and theorizing and learning how to love each other better and how to improve our impact on the planet.

    if you are a bigot, then staying with us may be a challenge for you... be warned, grow or leave.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly housework, animal care, yard work and teaching about other cultures/ or your area of expertise...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    i would like my kid to learn some Spanish. Portuguese or Tagalog would be great too. we often enjoy the process of teaching English and learning more about our own language by talking to people who see English from a different perspective.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Pull out couch and twin bed in first level section of house. we call it "the apartment." Private 3/4 bath, piano, kitchenette area with sink. Cabinet/wardrobe space in shared laundry room.

    warning:
    we have an old sewer system and so the toilet sometimes clogs if someone puts toilet paper in it. it's one of those old toilets where you have to put the toilet paper in a wastebasket instead, this is a thing you will encounter from time to time if you travel to a lot of places.

    warning:
    we do not have a heater or air conditioning in our house, the house gets cold sometimes, december through january you will need a good sweater, the house gets hot sometimes in the summer, you wil need to deal with it.
    we do use heated blankets and heating pads in the winter and fans in the summer, if those are enough for you to be comfortable then you will be comfy here year-round :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bay area, CA is known for its progressiveness, diverse and deep mix of cultures, lots of tourists, ocean, desert, and mountains all within a short drive.
    The sf bay area is also known for having relatively few racists compared to the rest of the united states, having mild coastal climates, and at least one very special family!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    our internet is ok, and if you need a workstation, then we could rearrange some furniture downstairs so that you have a table to work at :) or you could work at the big kitchen table i that suits you better.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 384512973739

Feedback (34)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)





















































Help at a sanctuary for rescued farm and domestic animals in the Berkshires, USA
Come help milk goats and make cheese with our family in isolated New Mexico, USA