Looking for a Handy person to join our family in Angus, Scotland.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself Louise, husband Martyn and two children Bella and Evie are looking for some help this August and September 2019 to catch up on gardening, painting and general DIY.

    We live in the Sidlaw Hills just north of Dundee in sunny Scotland. We have an old farm cottage that sits on 1 acre of land, our location is rural and very beautiful. We are surrounded by beautiful hills which are perfect for hill walking and off road cycling.
    We are a 10 minute drive from the city so it is the perfect mix of countryside and city life.

    We are looking for help with;

    Painting of wooded sheds,
    Gardening (cutting grass, weeding, strimming)
    Dry stane dyke repairs,
    and general maintenance of our space.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we have two young girls we are often hill walking , cycling or going to a museum in the city at the weekends. We try to pack in lots of learning and cultural trips as much as we can. We are only 1 hour from Edinburgh and 1.5 hrs form Glasgow so we try to get a few city trips made each holiday. The coast is half an hour away and is stunning. Local attractions include Camperdown Zoo and Park, The Dundee science Centre, The Dundee Transport Museum, The V&A, and much more. Workaway travellers would be more than welcome on all of our trips. We would also be more than happy to organize and help with any further travel arraignments.

  • Help

    Help

    We would be happy to have as much help as you could lend, be it 1 week or 2.

    We will be flexable if workers have plans to do special activities.

    We offer food & accommodation, in fantastic surroundings. The food is home-cooked with local produce. As you'll live as part of our family, we expect you to participate in the daily chores.

    We have wi-fi, and can lend you shot of bicycles to get around.

    We have a large garden (1 acre) which is mostly trees, grass and vegetable beds. It has been let go this past year due to work commitments so we are looking for someone to trim hedges & bushes. Strim and tame the borders. Weed the strawberry & vegetable patches. Cut the grass. Paint the workshops and out houses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the weather, we have a lovely two berth caravan with awning that will be set up in our spacious garden. You will have full access to to the house facilities. Or if the weather is too wet we have a spare room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live one mile from a small village called Auchterhouse. The village is a sleepy place but has a fantastic community of friendly people. We are surrounded by farmland so our project would be perfect for someone/people who would enjoy a quiet and tranquil workaway experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 383711834492