Contribute to our family and share your culture in the English Countryside

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 319 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1096

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 79 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a home birth midwife and massage therapist living in Hampshire, UK (about an hour SW of London) with my home educated (gamer) son 16, 1 cat, 2 kittens, 4 chickens and a friendly Labrador called Romeo. We have a self contained caravan in the garden with a king sized bed, little kitchen, and toilet and enjoy having guests from other places. I'm originally from the USA and travel around the world catching babies when I'm not home in England.

    We have a wide variety of interests. I swim on a swim team. Elliot is a big footballer and is massively into gaming. We all love animals, the cinema and enjoying life in general.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to help you with English skills (USA and UK!). I also speak a little Spanish. We can show you around and you can be immersed in our culture. That said, we have had some workawayers who prefer the seclusion of our rural space and their own caravan to have some peace and keep to themselves. THis is up to you.

  • Help

    Help

    I am flexible to let you help to pick and choose how you would like to contribute to our family/house.

    I want to expose my son, Elliot, to new and interesting people who can give him another perspective of the world. If you enjoy sports or sport related therapies or could teach him to play the guitar that would be great. Do you have a passion you could share? Autonomy is important to Elliot he does not like 'teaching' but rather a sharing of ideas and experience. If the two of you don't gel then there is plenty of other jobs to do.

    I work a lot and my house is in desperate need of attention. I'd love to grow things and build eco buildings and such. It's great if you can use your initiative to help me with ideas.

    I need someone to do some day to day cleaning/hoovering and there are lots of 'projects' and deep cleans that could be done. See something that needs attention? Great!

    We love to try new food and would like for our guest to be able to cook dinner or lunch on most days if possible. I will keep the cupboards and fridge stocked with healthy food (prefer no junk food, or to be kept in your room out of site). We tend to eat when we're hungry and so don't necessarily have meals together. Elliot can also cook and I'm happy to do this together too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    King bed in your own caravan. The caravan is cold in the winter but there is a heater and you are welcome to hang out in the house of course. We live in a 3 bedroom farm cottage with a large garden. We are very near a pub but about 3 miles from the nearest market town (which has most things) and a train connection to London. I'm happy to taxi. THere may be a bicycle available. Only requirement is that you're a non-cigarette smoker (or occasional one outside could be tolerated).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are just over an hour outside of London (there is a train from Alton, the local town) and 40 minutes from Stonehenge. There are thatched cottages and Jane Austen's house is a few miles away. We are lucky to have miles and miles of public footpaths to hike and enjoy the countryside. The back garden overlooks fields and there are cows acoss the street.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours per day








Host ref number: 382488764885