Be part of our finca and help with our sustainable project near Malaga, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In Octobre 2020 we (Maayke and Mike) emigrated with our daughters (2 and 4) to Andalusia (southern Spain). We have bought a villa with mango farm (1.3 hectares) that we want to expand with many other fruit and vegetables. In addition, we want to realize 2 guesthouses.

    Our main goal for the future is to be so self-sufficient as possible and to eat from our own piece of land. We also want to be eco-friendly (use solar panels, recycle our water etc.). There's a lot to do in and around our house and we would love to have people around us that can help with building our dream.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can enjoy the beautiful nature and weather of our region, our hospitality and you can learn about mango farming and building a (permaculture) garden. You can also learn some dutch (or English) if you want.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    All the help is very welcome (renovate the casita, working in the garden, knowledge of permaculture etc.). We are at the beginning of our big project (regenerative agriculture and being self-sufficient in many ways).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would love to learn Spanish. We can teach Dutch (or English) instead.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own casita (little house on our land) if it's free, or you can stay in our house. It's also possible to stay in a camper(van) or a tent, with all the facilities of our house you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A driver's license (and a car) is highly recommended. We live on a hill and there is no public transport (bus, train etc.) nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If the camper(van) is not too big, it is possible to stay on our land.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are allowed in consultation.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 382178846341