Help us with some DIY and gardening and visit the cultural sites of Cornwall, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/04/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Andy, I live in a small stone terraced house in Cornwall about 10 mins drive from the sea, in the small market town of Redruth. I have a personal project in that my house needs renovating and decorating and I'm about half-way through. I'm currently refitting the kitchen including removing and repairing walls. Your bedroom would be clean, tidy and cosy but just no carpet yet. There is also a garden with veg beds and a wooden cabin.

    I have lived in the area for over 15 years and can guide you around and take you to see cultural sites, stone circles, bronze age villages, as well as visits to different beaches and hidden coves.

    I'm also a shamanic practitioner, sound healer and I'm also versed in shiatsu and can teach you anything you would like to know about these. I do drum, sing and dance so you are welcome to bring instruments for jamming. We can go to ecstatic dance events nearby if you wish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm 8 mins by car to the nearest beach. There are interesting walks nearby. The mainline station to London is close by. I can take you to visit beaches, ancient monuments, stone circles, river valleys and woodland, a visit to the cathedral city of Truro. There is a lot of local culture to explore. Redruth itself is a small former mining town with cafes, cinema, art galleries. I'm sociable and chatty but I will give you space to explore and do your own thing too.

  • Help

    Help

    For July onwards
    DIY - I'd like help with removing and fitting a kitchen, boxing in pipework, putting up drywall, plastering, any skills like this are appreciated. I am doing the majority of the work myself and you would help alongside me.
    Decor - Help with painting and decorating is welcomed, ideas about colours and textures, creative input is a bonus.
    Gardening - lots to do in the garden, tend the veg, grow more veg, create a path, seating area, repair chairs, sand and paint cabin. I can teach you about laying paths, vegetable growing, companion planting and we can share knowledge in this area.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small double room or
    Rustic garden cabin with electric (summer only)
    Please note I have a short haired cat.
    Shared bathroom with mini bath
    I use a green energy supplier
    Instant hot water
    Washer/dryer and clothes line
    Use of refrigerator
    Hifi speed broadband

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    4 hours a day appreciated help with two meals a day included. Vegetarian and dairy free. If you wish to have dairy you are welcome to buy it and store it in the fridge. No meat in the house.

    Nearest train station is Redruth. 10 mins. walk.
    Nearest Airport is Newquay. I can do airport pick ups. It's 10 mins by train to the City of Truro.

    You can walk from the house into the countryside (several mins. to a footpath).

    There are biking trails nearby.

    Several Cafes in town, serving standard, vegetarian and vegan menus.

    Nearest beaches are Porthtowan for surfing (8 mins by car) or Portreath for swimming (15 mins).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    High speed WiFi available until 10pm

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 381946167921