Childcare for human rights professional with one 8 year old son in Essex by the sea

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    315

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Childcare for a nuclear family with an 8 year old son living in Essex. Would suit individual with experience of autism/Aspergers. We live in a very desirable seaside town, which is quiet in the winter and comes alive in the summer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This would be primarily of interest to an empathetic, yet an organised person, whom might be thinking about a career as a special needs assistant or a teacher, or one whom requires the English or experience to be able to pursue such a path. It is possible that the most suited individual would get an insight into Irish family life, living and adjusting to the United Kingdom. Furthermore, my background in human rights would be attractive to individuals who might be thinking about this area (either in theory or practise). I would anticipate that at the end of the school year, our volunteer would be fluent in English!

  • Help

    Help

    *️*️*️UPDATE: We are looking to host someone during the summer months - from mid-June, until the end of August/start of September. For the first few weeks, the hours would be worked after-school, but once our son is on his holidays, we would be flexible with how the hours are worked. We live in a very pretty seaside village which comes alive during the summer months. Ideal location for someone who enjoys walking/hiking, running, cycling, yoga or pilates.*️*️*️

    We would welcome the opportunity to host a mature, flexible, open-minded young person (female) to share in our family life as we embark on an exciting new chapter of our lives. I am a university lecturer and have basic French and Spanish. Our 8 year old son has Asperger's syndrome, so childcare experience is essential and knowledge of ASD or related conditions, such as ADHD, would be extremely beneficial. We require a friendly positive person to meet our son after school, give him a snack, do homework together and get a dinner prepared. Your weekends would be your own, and your hours would be worked after school (with some degree of flexibility).

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Family home - our volunteer would have her own bedroom. We are a non-smoking household. Any special food requests could be included in the weekly shop. At the moment, our son follows a gluten free/dairy free diet. We, his parents, are not so strict. We are meat eaters, though don't usually eat pork, but eat a lot of vegetarian meals too. We could do meal planning in advance, and if any dinner does not suit the volunteer, perhaps she could prepare a separate meal. We live a 10 minute walk from the sea, and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Also, the train station is a 2 minute walk and there are trains directly into London Liverpool Station.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I would expect a volunteer to be helpful and enthusiastic. There are tonnes of activities in Essex - lots of places to visit, and London is just a train ride away. We are keen to explore our new environs, so our volunteer would be welcome to come along and share this adventure with us. We have one mature family pet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 379673342233