Help provide company and with daily life In rural Northants, UK

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a sculptor, gardener & carpenter. I moved back to my family's home 2 years ago when my dad was terminally ill. Now I live with & look after my mum, which I would really appreciate some help with. She is 85 & can't walk very well but still drives & doesn't need personal care. She would really appreciate having someone else to talk to! She used to go to Italian classes for many years, so someone who can speak a bit of Italian might be good.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on the edge of a village; large garden with a brook around the edge, beyond that open fields & footpaths. Our garden is beautiful & secluded, and in summer months there is a lot of fruit in the orchard. It is a very relaxing & inspiring place to be. Gardening and art is my passion; I make sculpture (wood & clay) and also work as a carpenter & gardener. There may be the opportunity to learn some of these skills if you are interested. Might suit someone who is a writer or 2D artist?

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in our lovely home. My mum is 85 and would love someone cheerful & friendly to spend a bit of time with her. She likes going out to cafes etc. A clean driving licence would be useful. Other help: sorting stuff out in the house ~ getting rid of things to charity shops or on ebay. A bit of DIY/painting and decorating. Cooking (if it's your thing). I prefer a vegetarian diet. My mum likes sausages, cake & ice cream. We have two very friendly dogs who always love a walk. No smoking in the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single bedroom in our home, which is a bungalow. Share Kitchen, bathroom, living rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 6 miles from the nearest town, so entertainment around here is of a rural nature ~ walking cycling etc. I go wild swimming (river or lake) whenever I can. There is a bike you can borrow if you don't have one, and I go out cycling regularly. The village has 3 pubs, a shop and a community centre. There are regular buses in to town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 378354361759