Help our family in Frederick, Maryland


United States

Favourited 92 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We live in a beautiful hillside home in Frederick, Maryland. Frederick has a lot to offer. Whether you like the thrill of outdoor activities or enjoy music, arts and culture we have it all. Downtown Frederick is full of art and amazing food, picnic at Cunningham Falls, hike the great Appalachian trail, or tube/canoe/kayak the Potomac river - there is something for everyone! We are minutes from its infinite trails for a day of hiking or a weekend camping trip. In the winter there are winter sports - tubing, sledding, skiing or snowboarding. We are also in the middle of civil war history with battlefields, and only 1 hour from Washington DC and its free museums, shops and touring. Frederick also has a local community college that offers inexpensive English courses open to the community all year – we speak both English and Italian in our home. We are a family that enjoys the outdoors on our free time and also entertaining at home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is ton's to see in and around our immediate area for tourists. You can also take a weekend excursion to New York, Niagara Falls, Hershey Pennsylvania, Virginia Beach, etc. We are a bilingual family ourselves and have both traveled much of America and Europe.

    Our workawayer's get the most out of their stay when they have initiative to go do things on their own, and a car is also available for day trips, shopping, or running errands. Public transportation is available via bus and train. We are busy with kids, work, and social activities and need someone who can find things to do on their own. We have tons of ideas for you, but we just don't have the time to be a tourist with you.

  • Help


    We have 3 children (7yo, 6yo and 2 yo) and 2 pups. Mychal is a nurse-midwife here in Frederick and is looking for someone to watch the one littlest if a birth happens during the day/night when Marcello is away on business, and rarely watch all three - the two oldest spend the summer with their grandparents in Italy. Marcello’s work requires some travel and we need help watching all 3 when this happens (maybe 1x every other month).

    We also would like help with everyday light housework. In general, from hosting 6 people, our workawayer's had loads of time to do their own things and travel. They have spent time down town, visit another cities, took trips to NY and Niagra Falls, and Washington DC. We have had so many great laughs and LOVE learning about others cultures and family lives. We make the environment warm and welcoming and treat you as part of our family!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation


    Private bedroom and bathroom with plenty of space in the house for separate activities. A beautiful wrap around porch and 3 season room to enjoy the beautiful outdoors with a good book in peace. Mychal has trained in professional kitchens and will provide excellent multinational cuisine, and she does not expect any help cooking unless you want to pitch in or learn. During the warm months we have a car you may use, Marcello will use his motorcycle. Otherwise there is usually one car available for your use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect our guest to pick up after themselves and help with the fluidity of our home and family life. We are a laid back family, but are also very busy with work, school, doing projects around the house, or out exploring nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    irregular hours - usually 2 days a week (Maximum 25 hours/week)

Best memories are maid outdoors in the fresh air!
We love MotoGP! Its the one thing we watch regularly, but only takes up an hour every other weekend at best =)
our home in the fall
Hiking Maryland Heights Hike with our first Workawayer!

Host ref number: 377612968455