Help with gardening and perhaps general maintenance Charente, France



Favourited 35 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Hi my name's Diana. I live in the Charente with my 2 children and 3 dogs. Our home is in the small medieval town of Confolens (less than 3000 habitants). I am 51. Joseph my son is 18 and Andrew is 11.

    My two boys are in schooling, and I look after the home. I have recently taken up jogging. I love singing and reading and playing table tennis (we have a table on the ground floor - very useful for rainy days). We try to eat healthy, fresh fruit, vegetables and meat and fish. Where possible we eat organic veggies, which is why we try to grow some of our own vegetables. We also preserve some of our vegetables by canning.

    We live in a large house, part of which is rented out to students etc... We have a large wild garden area and vegetable garden, some flower borders and a lawn (which is all rather overgrown) and a separate garden along a nearby river (also overgrown),which has many apple, pear and fruit trees and grape vines, which we use for days out and barbeques, fishing, and sometimes for vegetables too.

    I would like to get my gardens and vegetable gardens working better.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The french way of life. French food and culture.

  • Help


    I'm looking to find someone to help with my garden, especially with the vegetable garden. There may be the possibility of general maintenance or cleaning help, we'll see for time.

    Help with housework would be fabulous too.

    Please contact me for more information

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Room and food provided. Shared bathroom and living room. Free WIFI access in house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus service twice daily from the town centre to Angoulême. We have various bicycles, but it would be easier to have a car to explore the region. You will need to have your own health insurance and voluntary work insurance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 per day. 5 days a week

Ancien Chateau/Castle at St Germain de Confolens
Public swimming baths in Confolens
The River Vienne at Confolens
The Old Moulin at Confolens
Casque d'Agris. So named because it was found in Agris, a town in the Charente. Now housed in the Museum in Angouleme.
A real dinosaur bone found last year in the Charente measuring a famous 3.5 meters in length!
Our Goat Honey at Milking Time....
Host ref number: 373571813645