Search for aliens in Roswell, New Mexico

  • United States
  • Favourited 527 times
  • Last activity: 26/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *****COVID note: I am 68 years old, so I’m going to try to be very, very careful re: infection. I need people who are vaccinated. No ifs, ands or buts.******

    ***Another note: No guns, drugs or dogs. The dogs thing is strict because both my animals and I have been traumatized by domestic dogs and really don't like them. Sorry, dog lovers.

    I am an older woman, living on five mostly undeveloped acres just outside Roswell, N.M. (yes, THAT Roswell) who needs help mostly outside, trying to make my property self-sustainable. I'm learning as I go, so trying new things is always fun.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I discovered this site through another website, and quickly discovered I love meeting folks from around the world.

    The help is nice, but just meeting interesting folks (which is what I've done lately) is the best part. I'm also a font of knowledge about what there is to do in New Mexico (aside from Roswell aliens) and would give you lots of time to explore.

    There have been times when 16 folks have been at my house all at once, from all around the world. Folks can learn other languages, improve their English and get to try meals from around the world as we all share in the cooking, and experiments are welcome.

    New Mexico itself is a multicultural state, and so you can check out the ethnic and historic aspects of that as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Thanks to some marvelous Helpers in the past, the major (read: really hard) work is done, so now I need folks who can help plant, weed, water and harvest my gardens, as well as help feed and care for my two llamas, three goats, three ducks and two dozen or so chickens, along with four cats.

    I lived overseas four four years and came back to a home that wasn't taken care of well by my caretaker. So there is a lot of cleanup, reorganizing and getting everything back in shape. (Into completely going through my shed and helping plan a garage sale? I'm up for that.)

    I'm also recovering from both a broken leg and hip (which is why the above still needs to be done), so I need someone who can care for the animals (about an hour a day) and help me with things like laundry (I've just started doing that, yeah!) and cleaning. They are easy tasks, and you’re welcome to spend the rest of your day doing what you’d like.

    And if you ride/repair motorcycles (and have an MC license), my bikes were also mistreated during in my absence and injuries, so could use someone to ride/repair them.

    The house is filled with things to do (books, vinyl records, games) so you won’t be lacking for entertainment. I have good wifi and a truck you can borrow if need be for chores. (Sorry, it’s manual transmission.)

    I also love folks who come up with creative new ideas for my property. (And, if you're into cooking I won't turn that down either.)

    And again, creativity and any other skills are always welcome. And the preference is for longer-term helpers (two or more weeks) but we will consider anyone.

    This is NOT structured (i.e. 9-5) help. The animals have a daily routine but it’s short and simple, and as the growing season progresses, there’s daily work in the yard and garden. But other than that, what you decide to do is up to you. Much of the building/repair is done with scavenged materials and what’s on hand, so inventiveness is definitely encouraged.

    Depending on how many folks are here, you'd get a private room (shared bath) in my home, and could work as many or as few hours a day as you'd like. (But you will be asked to help with the animals and related chores in order to stay.)

    As long you you don’t eat me out of house and home I will provide food, and there’s always eggs and the bounty of the garden, in season.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I've taught English overseas, and it's my native language, so I can help you there. I studied Spanish for seven years, but never used it, so would like to become more fluent.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on how many folks are here, you'd get a private room (shared bath) in my home, pull out couch in the living room, or, once it's finished, there a travel trailer with hopefully all the amenities.

    There's one indoor bathroom with tub and shower, we're working on building a solar shower outdoors and a composting toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Besides the alien stuff (museums, gift shops, etc.), Roswell has the Roswell Museum and Art Center, Anderson Museum of Contemporary Art, NMMI Museum, Southwest History Museum, Spring River Zoo, Bottomless Lakes State Park and BItter Lakes Wildlife Refuge.

    Roswell is three hours from three big cities: Albuquerque, NM; El Paso, TX; and Lubbock TX. Carlsbad Caverns and Guadalupe Mountains National Parks are two hours south; Cloudcroft and Ruidoso (mountain communities) just to the west; White Sands National Monument two hours to the west; and Lincoln State Monument (Billy the Kid), Ft. Stanton and Capitan an hour west.

    If you'd like to see a fun video several of my WorkAwayers made about my place, let me know and I'll send you the link.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have solid internet and my place is quiet, so if you're looking for a safe place to stay, consider my home. I have a reference from a house sitter who has been working from my home for a year.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have five acres, and can park a van or motorhome and connect it to electricity. The wifi also works outdoors.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 372871447959

Feedback (34)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)







































Have the experience of a lifetime at a non-profit camp in Reading, Michigan, US
Learn about regenerative non-profit farming with a small family on San Juan Island, Washington, USA