Simple life in lovely peaceful setting, help out in a country farmhouse in County Kildare, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 654 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    258

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I Live with my eldest daughter in an olde Irish Farmhouse which has been in the same family for many generations . Recently retired from a busy equestrian life , I m now having more time to enjoy improving and maintaining the Garden ..and love growing flowers and vegetables and hope to welcome friends and family to various Artistic and Musical activities in our area again this Year.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The lodge goes back to 1740 , and has been passed on through the generations of the same family since that time, so there is an opportunity for travellers to learn a lot about the History of the area and embrace some of the old traditions of life on a family farm in Ireland .

  • Help

    Help

    Due to the fact that I was widowed last year We would particularly welcome the more versatile and energetic type of male or person capable of, and who enjoys, tasks such as creative carpentry and a love of being outdoors in the garden, willing to help with safely handling a Strimmer ,Clippers etc , or helping with repairs and maintenance , Painting Etc. We prefer after a trial week to agree on minimum stays of 3 to 6 weeks, dependent on compatibility and Time of year. Our environment is well suited to those who are familiar with Country living and a love of animals. We have a Dog and two cats, and hope to reinstate our chicken run. We now also have a little family group of Friendly sheep.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    in Summer We provide a very comfortable two bedroomed Mobile Home which is located in the Garden adjoining the house and Stableyard. ( this ensures a little more privacy and space for any one staying as a helper if they prefer, ,but main meals are partaken together in the house . In Winter if weather is inclement we provide accommodation in house .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    N.B We have all had to take a Rein check due to Covid but might consider hosting again subject to current Cocooning conditions.
    In general , placements are for one person at a time.. but I will discuss the options for a couple for short periods if it suits us all mutually. To visit us in Kilkea gives a lovely insight into a Family farm which has been passed down through many generations since 1740 . There is a strong cultural tradition of Music locally .
    Timetables can be worked out to facilitate both parties for time off to visit other areas on Days off on a flexible programme. Buses and Trains from Athy and Carlow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 3722347744a1