Help to update web-presence and websites in Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 599 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    64  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, thank you for looking at our profile.

    We have an opportunity for someone who can help us with our websites. We are capable of carrying out the work but simply don't have time. If you have the skills to update and refresh two Wix websites then we would be keen to hear from you. This would be a huge help to us and we are open to your ideas and thoughts about developing our web-presence further.

    In exchange we can offer you a lovely wee cabin (water, electricity and wifi) set in our grounds surrounded by emu, barn owls and all the birdy-friends you could want. The people who have kindly helped us before worked in the kitchen (with a tortoise nibbling their toes) or in the pottery where Mark will be fettling his ceramics and making beautiful things.

    If you have a week or two to spare and fancy joining us then we would welcome you getting in touch.
    Owen


    This year's advert.

    Mark & Owen and their sons have been developing a conservation breeding centre for endangered birds in the lovely Scottish Borders.

    We currently care for about three hundred birds. With the help of wonderful volunteers we have planted thousands of trees, orchards, hedges and mixed woodlands to protect and provide food for the birds.

    During 2019 we would like to build:- outdoor classroom, flamingo house and kookaburra aviary. If you would like to help with these projects and the daily routines of:- caring for the vegetable garden, looking after young trees, helping to feed the birds, and help in the gardens - then do send a message. There are many tasks and projects here so there is something for everyone's ability and interest.

    Saturday and Sunday are days off and most of our volunteers go exploring Scotland, relaxing or getting involved with Edinburgh's wonderful culture and history.

    Mark speaks German, French, Greek and Spanish. If you are travelling to improve your English then Mark will be able to help you.

    This is a welcoming place with no prejudice: we welcome all nationalities, sexualities, colours, sizes, etc

    If you would like to be a part of this adventure with the opportunity to volunteer with some awesome birds then please get in touch.

    Thank you for reading!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity to live amongst a variety of wonderful birds and animals.
    The village is very friendly and has a pub.
    There are regular buses to Edinburgh with all the shopping, culture and history you could wish for! There are night buses also if you fancy some drinking and dancing in Scotland's friendly capital city. The same buses go south further into the Borders where there are old towns and villages to explore.

  • Help

    Help

    We have just built a large vegetable garden with a polytunnel and orchards. There is always interesting jobs to do in the vegetable garden and throughout the grounds.

    There are opportunities for construction of pens, fences and aviaries. If you are more interested in this kind of project then please tell us as it helps plan our work-schedule.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Greek, French, German and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a lovely cabin with a big double bed, kitchen area, electricity and wifi.

    This is an ideal volunteer position for a couple or two friends travelling together. It is possible to put another bed in the cabin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a pretty village with a pub, a shop and many lovely walks through rolling Scottish Borders countryside. There is a regular bus service which can take you further down into the Scottish Borders where there are fascinating towns and villages which are incredibly rich in culture and are historically important. And of course a good bus service direct to Edinburgh city centre.

    Mark and I are open to all cultures, religions, gender, sexuality etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









































Host ref number: 368619246757

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more