A community, saving and repairing stuff, coding open-source software and having a great time in Wurzen, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 195 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a place for people to work on transformative projects. It is inhabited by a dynamically changing group of changemakers who choose to live together in a sharing community. That means we aim to using as little money as possible and rather go out and save the quality things that are wasted in our abundent consumer society. It also means that we try to share a lot - be it food, clothes, tools, time, space or thoughts.

    We base our actions on our values instead of what is seen as normal, we try to think and live independently and authentically. Self-determination, equality and acceptance are our main values and we would love them to be lived and spread over the world. Our main areas of work are to save and share resources, to support movements for social justice, sustainability and climate action, to develop free, libre and open source software, to provide and connect public and common pool resources and to be authentic in our needs and capacities. Let's come together, inspire each other and save the world while having a good time! ;)

    There are enough resources, they only need to be distributed more fairly.
    Reduce Waste. Promote Sharing

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live together as a close community and practice a culture of sharing. Everybody here spends their time on some area of social change, so you can possibly get some new perspectives here. You can learn about alternative ways of consuming and living. Hitch-hiking, dumpster diving, building awesome things out of "trash", organizing events for people to spread ideas, coding free software, talking about and living alternative forms of relationships are some of the things we do :)

  • Help

    Help

    For now we are mostly looking for help with childcare. We have two small children (born October 2019 and January 2021) who need a lot of attention. The parents are super relaxed and always happy about people who help to take care of them. We would be delighted if someone would want to come specifically to do childcare!

    In a big community like ours there is always a lot of reproductive work to do - you might also call it housework: cleaning dishes, doing laundry, saving food, emptying bins, tidying up, you name it. Every Thursday we do 1-2 hours of communal cleaning, but there is something to be done everyday really.

    There are several big construction projects that we'd like to tackle in the coming years. The one which we already started is the roof. It is more than half finished now and this year (2021) it will hopefully come to an end. Afterwards there are ideas to build a ventilation system, to insulate the walls and to change the heating system - but those are not planned yet.

    And of course there are all the projects the people of the house work on. If you are interested in a project specifically just talk to the person working on it.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Japanese: Beginner
    Korean: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are no personal rooms, all sleeping spaces are shared between residents, guests of the house, workawayers and so on. Private rooms (where you can be alone) are available to sleep in on a night-by-night basis, but nobody has "their own room". If you want your very own space, you can put up one of our tents in our garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is always an abundance of food and you are obliged to do your part seeing that it reaches people's stomachs ;)
    But seriously: we usually do not buy food. Most food is either dumpster-dived, comes from cooperations with local food stores or is saved at festivals. Rarely we buy (vegan only) stuff like oil, oats or legumes. We usually cook communal meals vegan but dairy, eggs, fish and meat is also consumed by some, when there are dead animals in the bin...
    If you do not feel comfortable with eating food that has once been in the trash, maybe this project is not the right one for you. In case it has still not been clarified for you: Workaway volunteers will receive 3 meals a day/ingredients that can be used for cooking for free (from the above mentioned sources).

    Mostly there are around 10-15 people. There can be times when there is only 5 people here and there can be times when we are more than 20 people (at hackathons, meetups, or meetings of external groups).

    For fun activities we like doing yoga and acroyoga, go swimming in the nearby lake, play games of all kinds (cards, boards, video, pen&paper, impro), play music together or for each other (we have a variety of instruments including a piano and some guitars), and simply talk and cuddle in the evening.

    There is not sooo much to do in Wurzen outside of our project, but some options are: going to the Mulde river (about 15 mins.) which is also good for swimming. Taking a walk to the "Spitzberg" a very nice area with lakes, forests and meadows. There is a group doing self-organized self-defense as well as a feminist group.and some of us participate there as well.
    We also are good friends with a housing project on the outskirts of Wurzen, the "Villa Klug". They have a big garden, a sauna and are very nice. Helping in the garden there can also be arranged.

    Wurzen is very close to Leipzig, the train runs several times an hour and takes you to Leipzig central station in 18 or 40 mins. (depending on whether it's a small or fast train). Leipzig is a modern and pretty "hip" city with plenty to do and explore. It has been called 'the new Berlin' some years ago already and it becomes truer every day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet connection is excellent, but we wouldn't want to provide it to someone who does a job that does not ft our values. If it does - be welcome to work on your project in our space!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)










Host ref number: 367874778735