Southern Australia.

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in the country with my wife Liana and a varied number of horses depending on the time of year. I am located about 350 kms south east of Adelaide. I need some help around the place at the moment and i thought it would be a great to meet people who would like to visit the country, especially southern Australia.I spend a lot of my time during the warmer months of the year breaking in horses for other people,so if your into horses this might be for you depending on experience.There is bush walking straight out the back door and the area has plenty of birds,kangaroos,wombats all the usual suspects to see.During the season I also do some hunting so if your not comfortable with that this is probably not the best place if you have an aversion to hunting and as you would guess, I don't do a lot of vegetarian meals but am willing to try.I have had a lot of backpackers stay over the years through work and I have really enjoyed talking with them,learning about their country and showing them mine.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When different people have stayed over the time I have been doing this, some have learned new skills from trimming horses feet to sharpening and operating a chainsaw, fencing, how to ride a horse,how to light a fire. Aside from those skills both parties learn more about eachothers cultures,especially by living with someone.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a never-ending list of jobs around this place, so there is always plenty to do.The jobs vary depending on experience. They would involve feeding horses, riding older horses out with younger ones on their first outings.If you can't ride it doesn't matter still plenty to do,mowing lawns,building maintenance,some house work,weed chipping,maybe hay carting depending on the season.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in the house,shared bathroom.Have to share the couch in the evenings with two cats who like to get warm by the fire.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see in the area,the world heritage listed Naracoorte caves are very close by and the coast is only about an hour and half drive away.Plenty of bush walking and wildlife.As for the benefit of coming to help me, perhaps I can teach you something you didn't know or vise versa. If you decide to come and stay a international drivers licence is handy but not essential.I am 20 kms from town and if you are looking for night life besides wombats and kangaroos you won't find much.So if you prefer the peace of the country this might be the place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day five days a week








Host ref number: 583526447956