Help out on our marketgarden, young orchard and fruit tree nursery near the village of Örsundsbro, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our name is Karl and Malin and we are living on our farm since 2016. We grov flowers and veggies for the farmers market in Stockholm (which runs May and Aug-Oct). We are also setting up an orchard and run a nursery with fruit trees and berries. We have both worked as growers and gardeners for many years and are happy to finally have our own farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Since we are both experienced gardeners you will have the opportunity to learn about organic vegetable growing, gardening, flower farming and nature.

  • Help

    Help

    It is a lot of basic things that needs to get done around here. I.e. moving stuff/rocks/dirt around, painting, cutting down trees and so on. But we also grow vegetables and flowers for the market, propagate plants for the nursery, tend the garden, and everything that comes with that (lets face it; growing veggies means a lot of watering and weeding). The work varies with the season and the weather. But we are outside all the time (in all kinds of weather) and the work is mostly physical (not always hard but you will at least use your hands and feet to get things dine)

    It´s important that you both can and feel comfortable with doing tasks on your own! Kalle works weekdays of the farm and some days Malin has to be away as well (we are always back in the afternoon tho). We understand that you are on some sort of vacation, but it is important that you understand that we are trying to make a living from farming and respect that by doing your best at the tasks you are given. We always communicate with the volunteers to find good work that they are comfortable doing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a sweet caravan for you. We prefer to have two volunteers at a time. And you will share caravan. We eat together in our house and we help each other with cooking and doing dishes and cleaning up. We can not normally cater any special diets. (If you have a suger addiction, BYO suger)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is wi-fi access in/by our house.
    The farm is about 1,5 h away from Stockholm (by public transportation) and 30 min from Uppsala and Enköping. Closest bus stop is 10km away. You can always get a ride to the buss in Örsundsbro with Kalle in the morning when he goes to his work. In the nearby village Örsundsbro you find a supermarket, some small shops, a second-hand shop with café (they have the best cakes!), a small marina, a small rural cinema and a lot of buses taking you to Uppsala, Bålsta, Enköping and Västerås. See ul.se for timetable. Around the farm there is forests, lakes and farmland to explore.
    Whne we go to farmersmarket i Sthlm there is usually 1-2 seats available in the van if you want a ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our house
Washing veggies for the market
cut cut cut
Flowers by the bucket
Flowerharvest
Volunteer Kika rocking the flower harvest
Our dog, Mayo
Young apple trees in the orchard
The fruittree nursery
Planting hedgerows
A lot of work is made by hand
Polytunnel coming up with great help from volunteer Hans
The caravan from the outside
And the inside





Host ref number: 367524598532