Join us in a multi-cultural family-project in Sapa, Vietnam



Favourited 696 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    FROM JUNE!? We are a group of local girls and women from 3 different minorities. We are Hmong, Giay and Kinh, working together in a home-stay in the village of Ta Van. Set up by a Dutchman 9 years ago to create something new for tourists and being a training project for mostly uneducated local girls and ladies.
    Hien is the manager and around seven other women help in busy days her to make their customers happy.
    They accomodate guests in one of their wooden houses, they go trekking with guests, they make food and drinks in their local bar, they work hard , have fun and enjoy the stunning landscape with rice terraces around them.

    We love to work together with western volunteers, learn English, help our guests , help in the gardens and do all that is necessary to have happy guests. We love hospitality and we hope you do too. And.........we are sure you love the landscape we live in! We can cook well and will do that for our guests and for you!

    WE are looking for single travellers or couples/couple of friends to stay with us for a minimum of around 2 weeks!
    Because i can not always be around we also need volunteers who see the work and are pro-active and love the cultural exchange, also with some of our ladies/girls whos English is very poor.

    Advantages to stay and help us:
    Free accommodation and 3 meals a day with us.
    Every week a day off to go trekking!
    Great landscape
    A cultural exchange with girls and women from 3 different tribes/minorities.
    A great mix of tasks besides the main
    WIFI everywhere.

    We work sometimes full days and in hospitality you can't leave guests alone, so we expect, when necessary, that you help as we do, you eat as we do, you laugh as we do and you play as we do!!
    We are looking for motivated, flexible hard working people, friends, couples and also solo travelers who love hospitality with a mix of local girls in a stunning landscape. We think the minimum of workawaying with us is a week, though we prefer 2 weeks or more when you feel good with us. Something for you? Lets discuss quick when we have availability.

    And from Sapa, take a taxi to our village Ta Van , 9 km for max 10$.
    Please mention Bamnoo Bar to the driver coz that is where we will meet!
    Best is taking the morning bus from Hanoi, but please contact me if we need to help you with booking it.

    Hope to see you!

    Hien and 'Family"

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By living and working with us we can share how and what we eat, our humor, our families living close, the way we make hemp clothes and we work in our rice terraces, often still by a water buffalo. We lived without money till 10 or 15 years ago. We had our yearly rice harvest, we had our veggies and pig and chicken, made our own tofu, talk three different languages and much more. Luckily we do have a salary now and we are trained to work in hospitality and work in a multi-cultural family-project. Join us!

  • Help


    With our home-stay we work in hospitality. So all tasks that have to be done to make our sleeping and eating guests happy is our job. We talk with them, check in and check out, keep all clean, maintain garden and houses, trek with them. Though some of us speak good English not all do. So we also love to chat with you and learn more. In return we tell you about our culture and lifestyle and maybe once we can show you are family, or join us on a trek on your day off and walk around yourself and explore our bamboo forests and buffalo paths.

    Volunteers sleep in the private dorm of our home-stay. Very good mattresses and blankets in a private space of the dorm.
    If available they can stay sometimes in one of our rooms.

    As you maybe know hospitality is hard to describe, one has to do everything for the guests and to improve the quality of our local minority staff to train them.
    The local staff we learned how to cook breakfast and dinner and to make the drinks. I manage all and the volunteers help us with teaching some English to our staff, maintain the gardens, maintain our wooden houses, have fun, talk with guests, help us what all the day brings, solve problems of the day.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Vietnamese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Private dorm with a quality mattress! Sometimes an upgrade to a room depending on availability and working attitude (hihi) Both are in our home-stay with garden and mountain view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your weekly day off please have a trek with one of us, rent a motorbike, stroll around, visit Sapa town for a pizza (haha, we only have local yummy food) or the cable car t the highest mountain of Indochina.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 366254333893