Help out on our 5 acres of sub-tropical paradise in northern NSW!

Country

Australia

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/08/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our property is situated in the beautiful Bellinger Valley, 10 minutes from Bellingen. Bellingen is a small, but vibrant community of environmentalists, conservationists, artists, musicians, and dairy farming, situated 30 minutes south of Coffs Harbour, on the NSW mid-north coast. Coffs Harbour is on the coast, half-way between Sydney and Brisbane. We are 5 minutes from the Bellinger River, 15 minutes drive from beautiful deserted surf beaches and 30 minutes from world heritage rainforests and the Dorrigo Plateau.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a gay couple, with a very energetic dog, and both our backgrounds are in wildlife, zoos and conservation. Our property is frequently visited by local wildlife: wallabies, bandicoots, reptiles and frogs, and many species of native birds. We have a large dam on the property which is home for a few native ducks, and thousands of frogs. Our 3-bedroom house is open and airy, with large, sunny outdoor decks and beautiful views of trees and rolling hills, and it's peaceful and quiet. We have a kayak for the river, a swimming pool for those warm days and hammocks to laze around when you aren't working!

  • Help

    Help

    Some of the jobs we'd like a hand with include: removing weeds and re-vegetating a few areas with native trees, shrubs and grasses, pruning, weeding and tidying up gardens, mulching and perhaps a hand in the vegetable garden, as well as some general tidying up jobs around the outside of the house, including a few carpentry jobs. We have a few fallen trees that need to be cut into firewood with the chainsaw and brought up to the shed. We're also painting the outside of the house in a few stages, so if you have painting experience, let us know! If the weather is wet, there's always a few housekeeping jobs we can find.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a light and airy three bedroom home, with large outdoor decks and a swimming pool. Volunteers have their own room in the house, with a queen-sized bed, and their own bathroom. We are non-smokers, and we prefer not to have volunteers who smoke.

    We live in a rural area on 5 acres (2 ha), which we share with wallabies, possums, bats and lots of birds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are happy for you to have flexible working hours, but we expect the equivalent of about 4 hours work each day, or 8 hours every second day if you'd like to have days off to explore the area. In return we offer your own room and bathroom, great food, and transport to and from Bellingen or Coffs Harbour. We very much prefer people who have good life skills - we're not running a hotel, and we appreciate some help with basic household duties such as washing dishes and cleaning up the kitchen after meals. We expect you to treat our house with respect and to clean up after yourselves. We generally take helpers for a two-week period.

    We enjoy offering extra support and privileges to our volunteers, such as trips to the rainforest and the beach, for those people who are prepared to show us that they are grateful to be sharing our home.

    Coffs Harbour is the closest airport and Urunga is the closest railway station and bus terminal and we can pick you up if needed. You can find transport details here:

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 365272599816