Join my ecological co-housing project in Gent, Belguim

Country

Belgium

Favourited 171 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After hosting workaway guests for years in my home, I became ill and had to let go of the house. Now I’m involved in a new project, an ecological and social cohousing project in Gent. We bought a church to use as a community hall and are restoring it, as well as the small school attached to it. We are also building 14 new houses and apartments (not DIY but with professionals and we try to ‘help’ in the building process and learn).
    During the summer 2019 and throughout 2020 we are building houses and apartments in a bio-ecological way, using hemp concrete, lime, wood construction, etc.
    Because of my illness I am no longer capable of ‘lending a hand’ to help the group in the building process. So I’m looking for people who want to come for at least one month and help on the construction site.
    The deal is that you work 24 hours a week in exchange for your stay and meals.
    If you want to learn about these techniques, please contact me.
    I can host one person, but during some time I woud be able to host more.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Next to meeting a great community of people, Gent is a super fantastic city: creative, innovative, veggie and vegan friendly... My life is a very ecological one, so my network consists of tons of young people involved in commons, communities, eco friendly solutions, etc. I am a ‘business mother’ and I specialize in cooperatives.

  • Help

    Help

    The help would consist of making and applying the hemp concrete or using lime to the walls. Sometimes it’s about cleaning up or helping me to cook a meal for the whole group.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteer is either sharing my apartment with me, or I provide a guest room with friends of mine (part of the group on site).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    24hours per week









Host ref number: 3227562674d1