Help us with some renovation and decorating in our new house in Edinburgh, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 265 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    963

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very busy Edinburgh couple with two children, one 4 year old and a 2 year old.

    We work and run a holiday letting business. We also have day jobs.

    We are currently letting 2 apartments for holiday lets in Edinburgh and need assistance with changeovers (getting the apartments ready for new guests). Ideally would like someone to meet and greet guests and do a changeover at the holiday let apartment/s ranging twice to 3 or 4 times a week. This would be your main responsibility with us.

    We would also like help with cleaning our own house, cooking in the mornings and evenings. As you'd be living with us, then some of these chores would be seen as shared living as you'd be contributing towards this. We pay for all the food and you get an allowance for your own extras/tastes.

    We ask that from time to time you help out with getting the children to and from nursery or staying with them if there is an emergency that we need to attend to with guests or otherwise. We do not ask you to look after the children frequently and its very rare that we would ask you to do anything with them. But sometimes they will ask you to play with them, so if you are happy to do this then we'd love you to do so - for fun!! They are very loving and good children.

    As a volunteer you will have your own room your own bathroom, sitting room and kitchen and WIFI. The house is 5 mins walk to Leith walk with many buses taking you into the city center, its a 30 mins walk to Edinburgh city center and 40/50 mins walk to Portobello beach along a promenade. Perfect for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding area. There is also a nearby frequent bus service.

    We are a very accommodating family but do require someone who is hard working and will put our needs first as a priority.

    Ideally we would like someone to stay with us for a few months, (not just a month as it takes time to settle and learn what to do).

    We would like to know your objectives for coming to stay with us so that we can make your stay an enjoyable one and so that you can get the best out of your stay. We are happy to take you on family trips and excursions if you wish and get to know Scotland. You would only be required to work 25 hours per week so the rest of the time is yours...however, if you wish to get another job whilst doing this work for us then please let us know as we would have to consider how this would work in reality with our needs.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Outside tasks and jobs, you will be free to explore Edinburgh and Scotland with the city centre easily reachable by foot. Steve is from Edinburgh and loves taking about history. He was a stained glass artist and has traveled the world and still does with his job currently.

    Petrea is from Ireland and has lived in Edinburgh for many years and has spent 7 years living on the Isle of Mull as a High School music teacher where the family still have 2 holiday homes. Petrea is a musician and plays the Irish/Scottish harp, violin and also is a professional classical singer. We would be very happy to impart our passion and knowledge of Edinburgh and Scotland to our guests so that you will have a very pleasant and hopefully fun stay with us.
    Steve is very well versed in Scottish culture and history so is a very good conversationalist. We can help you out with getting settled and feeling welcomed.

    Volunteers would be welcome to explore the west coast Island of Mull, Tobermory where we have 2 holiday cottages.

    I'm keen to learn languages (Spanish/French/German/Italian)...I do have some language skills already and in return I can teach Gaelic (Irish) and about the culture of Scotland. I would be happy to do some language exchange conversations especially with our children and we will help you to improve your English.

    I would also be happy to give some music exchange lessons in singing, violin and clarsach (harp). if possible. I am very sociable and would be happy to extend my friends to our volunteers and take them along to some pub sessions where traditional music sessions will take place. We will also have family meals together with our volunteers so they feel part of the family and this is always the best opportunity for us all to exchange stories. At times there will also be some impromptu music sessions!!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Firstly the volunteers will need to be relaxed and flexible and non smoking.
    We require help on changeover days at our 2 holiday apartment which can be 3 or 4 times a week during busier periods and we will need some flexibility around this especially if we get last minute bookings at the apartments and need your help.

    Generally in a week you will have lots of free time, we are looking for a max 20 hours a week giving you lots of time to explore Edinburgh, helping generally a few hours at a time but every now and then helping longer hours for particular jobs as and when needs arises.

    We need help with changeovers at our holiday let apartments.

    We especially need someone who loves children and loves to cook and help out generally with family life. We need someone who enjoys cleaning and sees things to be done without having to be asked. We want someone who is organised and reliable and can meet and greet guests - giving them access to the holiday apartments.

    We are looking for a volunteer to stay for at least a month, with a longer term stay in mind, is much preferred (3/6 months or longer). We are looking for an individual who is independent and can think for themselves and are proactive about working.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable large city house facing Leith Links (green grassy park). You will have a double bedroom and bathroom with all food included and an allowance per week of approx £60 per week. You will have access to the kitchen, dining room and newly decorated sitting room. There is internet access throughout the house. Mostly food is expected to be prepared by the volunteer/s themselves. We are working so we don't provide this, but we do provide all the food and do all the shopping etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is 5 mins walk to Leith walk, 30 mins walk to Edinburgh city centre and 50 mins walk to Portobello. Perfect for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding area. There is also a nearby frequent bus service outside the front door of the house.
    There are many wonderful places to visit in Edinburgh and its the cultural capital of Scotland.
    Arthurs Seat/Queens Park is nearby - walking distance.
    Edinburgh Festival is the biggest Arts Festival in the world with 1000s activities taking place over August/September.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours per changeover and help with cleaning /cooking in our house 1/2 hrs per day


Host ref number: 364676433978