Help with gardening and potting plants in vicinity of Hobbiton, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    My husband and I have relocated an older home onto 2 acres in the country and have almost completed the renovations. We are surrounded by dairy farms and are midway between Matamata and Te Aroha. We have 2 adult daughters who live elsewhere. We have 2 dogs ( Golden Retrievers) a cat and some chickens. We have a plant nursery and grow mostly hedging and some natives to sell. My husband goes to work while I stay at home and work in my plant nursery growing hedging and gardening. It is a lovely safe location with beautiful mountain views.
    Because we are in the country it is important that you have your own transport.
    We are located approximately 20 minutes from Matamata and Te Aroha.
    We are looking for someone to come and help in the garden for about 1 week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience life with a typical kiwi family in a rural environment. It is just my husband and I and we enjoy meeting people from other countries and getting to know about their culture. We have travelled to Europe when we were younger and have an appreciation of what that entails.

  • Help


    We live on 2 acres and have a small plant nursery. We need help with weeding and potting up of plants.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom in our home and share the facilities. All meals will be provided by us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the vicinity of Hobbiton and lovely walking tracks and the Hauraki cycleway. We are 45 minutes drive from Hamilton and Tauranga and 20 minutes drive from Matamata. There is no public transport so ideally you will have your own vehicle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 364635677394

Feedback (8)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our eco-community in Masterton, New Zealand
Join us in our family home in semi-rural North-West Auckland, New Zealand