Learn DIY and help make the garden a paradise at my beautiful house in the hills of Umbria, Italy



Favourited 103 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    My name is Nigel, and I live a relatively busy life running an art gallery in London for 9 months or so out of the year. I love to learn new things (especially anything relating to building or DIY - hence me doing the restoration independently!), and have studied a variety of degrees - Acupuncture, Industrial design and Fine Art. This house is kind of like my sanctuary away from a very busy city and life, and you can feel that when you arrive. Its extremely quiet in the evenings, and I dedicate a lot of love and good energy into building and making the house an amazing place to go. I also have a small boat on Lake Trasimeno which is near that I take out every once in a while. The house, although a sort of abode from the London life, is aiming towards acting as an eventual artist residency as well. This will mean creative people could come after completed to stay for an allotted period of time to focus on their practice. This wont likely happen till 2019 or 2020, so at the moment, its more acting as a fun place to come experience Italian culture and learn cool new things!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think this can be of benefit in so many ways. I am English, and fluent in Italian, so they person staying would have the comforts of both sides of the coin. I would be able to assist with an introduction basic Italian, and translate when necessary. Equally, as I previously mentioned, I have tons of different DIY skills. Welding, carpentry, construction (iE foundation / building knowledge), plumbing, electrics, and Im also a good cook ;). I would be happy to share all these skills, so the person that comes would walk away with some new things they have learned. Finally, Im quite integrated in the local community of the small neighbourhood. Its mostly people that have grown up there, so the visitor gets an absolutely authentic Italian experience, whilst not being in the total deep end and also able to speak English. I run a successful art gallery in London, so I also have lots of interesting insights into art which Im very willing to share.

  • Help


    I have had this house for about three years - Originally it was not habitable, but I have taken it on as a personal restoration project. I have decided to do absolutely everything without contracting others in - So this means I have learned a multitude of trades, and skills. The help I usually would require is assisting me on general projects, for which the person(s) would also learn many new things. These tasks can have flexible levels of challenge, between rendering / building walls, to gardening / planting plants.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, spanish, english

  • Accommodation


    The house at the moment is composed of two very near properties. The main building has a sort of Kitchen and living room, one bathroom, and two separate bedrooms. I would be in one and the visitor(s) would be in another. Apart from this there is a second house, much smaller which Im transforming into an artist residency (slowly!), but right now it has only one of two floors completed. There is an infared sauna in it as well :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As for what you can do with time off - The house is very near umbertide, citta di castello, perugia, assisi, and many other places. Its not the most well connected in terms of public transport, but its definitely possible to get there! I have a motorcycle, and can give a ride locally with no problem - to a train station for example. Apart from this there is a cute local supermarket and bar - I usually go to the bar in the eve fro an aperol sprits (or two ;) after I work on the house. Its a sweet local community, so you get to know people pretty quick. Other things that arent too far are hot springs, lake trasimeno, and a plethora of restaurants which are super good!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

miami beach!
living room / kitchen
living room / kitchen :)
1st bedroom
these are the two houses (the top floors of both have been restored)
pergola (lovely eating out here in the evenings)
2nd bedroom (sometimes kittens come and visit :)
Host ref number: 364418942762