Help with childcare and cleaning in Totnes, Devon, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 188 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    287

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with three children aged 10, 4 and an almost 2 year old. We live in a small cottage within an intentional community (with approx 40 other adults and children) based in a beautiful old estate with mansion house, gardens and woodlands.
    Ollie is a school counsellor and mindfulness teacher and Annie is a medical herbalist and massage therapist. Our daughter attends the local Steiner school and Annie is mainly at home with the children at the moment.
    We love living in community and enjoy gardening, singing, meditation and yoga. Life here is often busy and can be noisy and chaotic! However, we do have regular meals and bedtimes. We would love help with cleaning, childcare and a bit of gardening and odd jobs around the house. We enjoy meeting new people and sharing the beautiful land we live on. We are mostly vegetarian and enjoy cooking organic healthy wholefood meals using fresh vegetables from the garden.
    There is no public transport to the local town, however it is about a 25 minute walk and we are able to offer lifts when necessary.
    We have a small house and life can feel busy a lot of the time so we are looking for someone who is independent, enjoys their own company and are happy to go off and explore the area, but also someone who is interested in community life. Although, we also enjoy meeting new people and could do some trips to the beach or dartmoor at weekends when we are free.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an intentional community. You could learn about community living through joining us at gardening, action days, choir and shared meals, though this is not compulsary! We live in Devon which has beautiful beaches, wild moors and rivers nearby. Totnes is walking distance and is a lovely town with a weekly market and is famous for being at the forefront of the Transition Town movement, which is about promoting sustainability. Totnes has many alternative and holistic events, therapies and workshops on offer. Ollie speaks four languages and has taught English to foreign students. Annie loves to cook with wild food and harvest herbs and make her own herbal remedies - which you could help with and learn about if interested.
    We both love cooking and other mainly organic, wholefood meals, though happy to cater to your needs for cows milk or other foods we don't usually eat (though prefer to have only chicken and fish in the house rather than other meats).

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly general help with cleaning and childcare would be great. Some gardening and odd jobs around the house - sorting cupboards or small DIY projects. We would love to have someone who is able to cook vegetarian wholefood meals but this is not a requirement.
    Our 9 year old daughter Lumi is at school most of the day during the week so you will be looking after Sylvan our 3 year old boy and our baby mainly. Sylvan our 3 year old is usually quite happy playing with toys in the living/kitchen area and we hope that once he is used to having you around that you can also do a bit of cooking or cleaning whilst looking after him. He loves being outside and you could take him to feed the chickens, play in the sandpit or harvest vegetables/salad from the garden. When you have both children we understand most of your time will need to be focused on them. We are looking for someone confident with children and able to multitask where possible.
    . We can give you set hours however we are looking for someone who is also willing to be flexible around hours when needed. However, if there is a class you want to attend in Totnes or other commitment, we will work around that whenever possible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Spanish, Portuguese, German, basic Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom looking out onto the garden and courtyard. Has its own entrance. Internet access (plug in with an ethernet cable as we don't have wifi) and use of landline for calls within the UK. No mobile signal in most of the house due to the thickness of the stone walls.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visiting our local town, Totnes, the market, the castle, Dartmoor, local beaches, boat trips down the river to Dartmouth, Dartington Estate (Gardens, cinema, cafe and walks along the river).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week and help washing up after meals





Host ref number: 363686954295