Help needed at a vet's farm in the beautiful south of Styria

Country

Austria

Favourited 297 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    809

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Mainly LOOKING for HELP in March, April, May and June 2020! Please READ description below!

    I'm a vet and I have a farm, which includes a horse reproduction centre. At the moment I board 6 horses at home, half of them are mine and the rest belongs to friends of mine. The place is located in the beautiful south of Styria, it's very quiet and relaxed. So if you like to go out in the evenings, it's not the right place. No Party People!

    The centre is focused on reproduction in mares - artificial insemination and embryo transfer in horses. During breeding season lot of owners bring their mares for these kind of special treatments (also from our neighbouring states like Slovenia or Croatia). Means that our stable sometimes is filled to the top (up to 25 horses).

    Great oportunity for veterinary students to gain knowledge and improve skills.

    Tasks are:
    - feeding the horses
    - preparing the mares for treatments
    - helping during treatments
    - cleaning up
    - preparing stables for new horses
    - welcome owners

    We're looking especially for a person, who could stay at least three weeks.

    The public transport is VERY POOR in this area, so it's really a rural area. Perfect for people who like nature, you can go for a walk in the woods and enjoy the area. If you are interested you can also join me from time to time, when I'm on my medical round to my patients (NOT main part of the work, I'm really looking for someone who takes care of the farm at home and I don't need help for the clinic itself in general)!

    Please check our calendar!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    get to know the beautiful area in the south of Styria (lot of people come to spend there holidays there), enjoy the beautiful nature, learn more about daily care for horses, get the chance to see a horse vet's life

  • Help

    Help

    taking care of the horses (feeding, mucking out, bring them on the pastures, help during treatments)
    other operations, which can be needed on a farm (e.g. repairing fences)

    Please read description above as well!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, a little bit French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you will have your own an own appartement in the first floor

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please only non-smokers!
    I'm a vegetarian, if you have problems with that please don't apply.
    Really looking for people who can work independently, the place is very rural so just apply if you like that (Graz is by car 45 minutes away and by public transport 2 hours!!!). If you want to get to know the life at a horse farm and have no fear of physical work and animals, like the nature and can stay at home by your own, then you're very welcome and be part of our family during your stay. But if you want to have holidays, tourist around, go shopping every day (also grocery) or are afraid of hard work, then please save our time and your's as well and don't apply!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    depends on the kind of help required and the weather - work with the horses must be done like scheduled, projects can be done by your calendar maximum 25 hours a week

one of our own foals
spring at vet stables
Routine scanning, done every four hours to catch ovulation
treating the mares - some need more assistance to get pregnant...
As specialist for equine dentistry - there are plenty of Treatments to watch
help always needed when mare and foal are in stock














Host ref number: 363624714486