Help around our home in the charming, historic town of Oak Park, Chicago, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greeting to all and Hello from Chicago :)

    My teenage daughter and I ( Mom ) live in a condo in the heart of our charming, historic town of Oak Park, close to everything. We are warm, caring and welcoming !!!

    From 2009-2016 we hosted international English students from around the world in our home and we absolutely loved it. They were our extended family indeed!

    We would love to have a helping hand around our small condo mainly around the kitchen- washing greens and juicing, some cooking,
    at times- sorting paper work,
    organizing, house chores like dusting and cleaning. Some computer work... will be a great help.
    just overall home help.

    Oak park is located just 20 minute train ride ( by the green line) to the heart of downtown Chicago. We are just 2 blocks away from the train station. :) Oak Park on its own is beautiful with much to explore, super safe town, diverse, lots of architecture and great restaurants. A very warm and friendly town!
    It is the place of the architect Frank Loyd Wright home and studio, Earnest Hemingway museum and birth home.

    Chicago has tremendous amount of things to do. Its beautiful, safe, full of architecture and art, beaches, millennium park, free concerts, street fairs and tons of museums. it really is endless.

    Our condo is next to all restaurants, supermarket, coffee shops, the train, a park, a library, post office and gym.

    We have a specious room for you to stay in and a shared bathroom.

    *️ We are mostly Vegan and we offer all American breakfast only.
    Example ... bagel, cream cheese, eggs, coffee or tea.
    I am a working Mom and my daughter’s schedule is very different than mine-
    my working hours are all over the place and changing daily. So we don’t Always sit to eat together. We try our best :)

    You are more than welcome to use the kitchen to store and prepare your own Meals.
    *️*️*️ We would only ask not to bring any pork products home.

    We also would like our guest to be a non-smoke.

    For privacy and safety reasons, it is not allowed for you to bring into our home other people. Only our workaway guest is allowed in our home.

    Help time is 5 hours per day, 5 days a week, in the morning hours. Starting around 8 or 8:30 am.
    We can be flexible at times.

    We would love to have you be a part of our small family.

    Please write us if you are interested in joining our family. 💕

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be very happy to be your help and guide as you tour our town and the city of Chicago. We will provide you with all the info of things to do in Chicago. English practice if you would like that and even help with English homework.

  • Help

    Help

    Its a small place so the main help we will need help with would be in the kitchen. For the most part, washing fresh greens, juicing fresh veggies, cooking meals ( we will cook together for the most part so no need to know much about cooking, just the will :) ) , help in the house hold chores like organizing, cleaning, folding laundry, food shopping , organize paper work. Basic English needed for proper communication. We will be happy to practice English with you and guide you with whatever you need help with.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hebrew, a little Spanish, a bit Japaneses, some Portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A specious room with a queen size bed, a desk and a small closet. We have Wi Fi for you to use, but not download any illegal movies from it. Its against the law in the States and Comcast will cut off our internet if you do so.
    We do not have TV or cable programming.

    My Daughter does her daily homework in the living room, so all we ask is that you respect our homework time and keep the quiet around homework time.
    *️*️*️ We ask that when using your phone to please do so in your designated bedroom only.

    *️*️*️ We do not accept or support workaway guests who are interested in finding a job outside the cultural workaway experience.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will love our beautiful Town of Oak Park which is just 20 minutes away from the Chicago downtown by train. The green line is just a 4 minute walk or just 2 blocks away. Perfectly located! Everything is in just walking distance. A few short minutes to everything. Chicago has beaches, Music, amazing restaurants, rental bikes, museums, architecture, millennium park, street fairs and on and on...
    You are welcome to use the kitchen to cook and the dinning room to eat but when my daughter does her daily homework in the living room, we kindly ask you to respect our homework time and keep the quiet around homework time. We welcome you to our home but ask not to bring anyone else into our home and follow our building rules. We thank you for your understanding and appreciating my daughters needs. i love to talk and chit chat and would love to have a workwayer that likes to communicate. :) We cant wait and are very excited to welcome you soon! Hugs ....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 363417842194