Help with house and garden in Süstedt, Germany



Favourited 66 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 31 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    We are a family of 5 and we live 25km south of Bremen outside of a small village called 'Süstedt'. Our old farmhouse is surrounded by fields, an orchard, a vegetable garden, a little forest and a grazing area for our two sheep. We have two sheep, some chickens and two cats. Two of our 5 children live at home. They are 15, (Matteo) and 13 years (Malaika). Hans-Werner (59) it a carpenter working in a social institution, Heidi (51) works as a midwife in Bremen. Last year we built a swimming pool (9x4m) in the garden and we also have a nice little sauna outside. There is a beautiful free apartment with a winter garden, your own kitchen and a bathroom in our house, which is available for our guests. We prefer to have more than one person (friends or couples or families) here, because the place is good for more than one person! (and we are afraid one person alone could feel lonesome, when everybody of our family is at school or at work. But of course, if you don't mind that, although a single person would be welcome;-) Actually we planning to built a place where the chicken can stay, because they love to put their eggs everywhere on our big compound:-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First of all you can learn the German language by being into a very normal (yet slightly crazy) German family :-) You can learn about German culture in the landscape of northern Germany. If you plan to have children (or maybe you are already pregnant) you can learn from a midwife with 20 years practicing experience and five own children. (two of them are already grownup). You also would be welcome with baby or small children. Our daughter will love to be with them and has experience with babysitting. You will be also welcome in our friends home if you want to get to know more people in Germany. The charming city of Bremen can be reached by bus or by train in less than one our. Also nearby are Verden and Nienburg, two small old cites of lower saxony. Bruchhausen-Vilsen (8km) can be reached by bus or bicycle. these you can lend from us. The main city of Hannover can be reached by car in about one hour.

  • Help


    Actually we need most of all help in the garden. In the house we need some help with renovating. Several rooms need to be painted after we lived in them for 18 years with four children and grandfather. There are other smaller jobs - e.g. a shelf under the stairway which needs doors to hide it...around the swimming pool there is always work... The fruit trees need to be pruned and the big garden needs work all year round. We heat with wood and there is always work around carrying or sawing wood. The grazing area needs new fencing. We prefer couples or families.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Italien, (little) french

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own apartment which contains one sleeping room with two beds, a small kitchen, and the winter garden can be used as living room or alternately as a sleeping room for up to three people. If you sleep in the winter garden you will be able to gaze at the stars at night and hear the sound of the surrounding animals. You have a little kitchen and your own bathroom. So you can choose if you want to be on your own, or if you want to share your free time and the meals with our family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Because our family is spread all over the world and we ourself have spent some time abroad (Africa and America, Austria and Italy) we love to be with international guests. When our grandfather was still alive we had help from Au Pair - a young women from Kenya and from Madagascar, which was a great experience. My sister also recommended workaway to us on the basis of her experiences and we look forward to meeting you. In your free time you can relax in the nature, e.g. go for a stroke in the near little forest. You can use the sauna, when ever you want. Even in wintertime you can use the swimming pool after being in the sauna. Bremen can be reached by public transport and has a thriving cultural scene.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

little chicks
swimming pool
sleeping in the winter garden
guests bathroom
guests kitchen
guests sleeping room
the way to our neighbors house
playing ground not only for children;-)
We like to sit on the fire in the evening
the wintergarden. One of the two rooms from your apartment.
this is the sauna in the garden.

Host ref number: 361938688487

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more